British novelists, 1890-1929 : traditionalists

Format: Print Book 1984
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Noncirculating (1)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library Off Site Storage (Please ask for assistance) rq PR881.B724 1984x
Location  CLP - Main Library
Collection  Off Site Storage (Please ask for assistance)
Call Number  rq PR881.B724 1984x

The forty years between 1890 and 1929 were the most fertile and diverse period of the British novel. The first of two volumes covering these years, DLB Volume 34 focuses on the Traditionalists whose works by and large reflect an affinity in form and content with the novelistic tradition established in the 19th century. Although many of the novelists included in this volume reveal a new awareness of the moral self, an irony exists at the unquestioned goals of progress, the injustices of society and a controlled subjectivity.

32 entries include: G.K. Chesterton, Joseph Conrad, Marie Corelli, Ford Madox Ford, E.M. Forster, Rudyard Kipling, H.H. Munro (Saki), Sylvia Townsend Warner, H.G. Wells, Oscar Wilde and P.G. Wodehouse.

Additional Information
Series Dictionary of literary biography ; v. 34.
Subjects English fiction -- 20th century -- Dictionaries.
English fiction -- 19th century -- Dictionaries.
Novelists, English -- 20th century -- Biography -- Dictionaries.
Novelists, English -- 19th century -- Biography -- Dictionaries.
English fiction -- 20th century -- Bio-bibliography -- Dictionaries.
English fiction -- 19th century -- Bio-bibliography -- Dictionaries.
Publisher Detroit, Mich. :Gale Research Co.,1984
Contributors Staley, Thomas F.
Language English
Notes "A Bruccoli Clark book."
Description xiii, 378 pages : illustrations, portraits ; 29 cm.
Bibliography Notes Bibliography: pages 343-346.
ISBN 0810317125
Other Classic View