Leonard Bernstein at Harvard "the unanswered question," Norton lectures 1973.

by Bernstein, Leonard, 1918-1990.

Format: DVD 2001
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library Second Floor Film & Audio - Nonfiction Video (DVD) MT6.B45 U6 2001x
Location  CLP - Main Library
Collection  Second Floor Film & Audio - Nonfiction Video
Call Number  (DVD) MT6.B45 U6 2001x
Historic lectures delivered by Leonard Bernstein at Harvard University. He examines music from every age and every place.
This six-tape set examines all types of music including folk and pop. Drawing his insights as a master composer and conductor, Bernstein explores works ranging from Mozart through Wagner in search of worldwide, innate musical grammar. The programs includes performances by Bernstein, Boston Symphony Orchestra, and the Vienna Philharmonic. Contains Musical Phonology, Music Syntax, Musical Semantics, The Delights and Dangers of Ambiguity, The Twentieth Century Crisis, and The Poetry of Earth.
Lecture 1, Musical phonology: explores the origins and development of music and language, with a performance of Mozart's Symphony no. 40 in G minor, K. 550 (104 min.)
Lecture 2, Musical syntax: compares the structures of music and speech, and discusses the multiple transformations of which both are capable, with examples from Mozart's Symphony no. 40 in G minor, K. 550 (95 min.)
Lecture 3, Musical semantics: demonstrates layers of meaning in Beethoven's Symphony no. 6 in F major, op. 68 (142 min.)
Lecture 4, The delights and dangers of ambiguity; explorations of new tonal fields by composers of the Romantic era; musical illustrations include Berlioz's Romeo alone & The ball of the Capulets from Romeo & Juliet, Wagner's Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan & Isolde, and Debussy's Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune (142 min.)
Lecture 5, The twentieth century crisis: Arnold Schoenberg's movement toward atonality and Gustav Mahler's anticipation of the crisis in twentieth-century music; includes performances of Ives' The unanswered question, Ravel's Feria from Rapsodie espagnole, and Mahler's Symphony no. 9 in D major, mvt. 4 (133 min.)
Lecture 6, The poetry of earth: examines how Igor Stravinsky kept tonality viable while experimenting freely with dissonance; includes a complete performance of Stravinsky's Oedipus Rex (177 min.).

Additional Information
Series Charles Eliot Norton lectures ; 1973.
Subjects Music -- Philosophy and aesthetics.
Music -- History and criticism.
Music and language.
Publisher West Long Branch, NJ :Kultur,2001
Other Titles Unanswered question
Unanswered question :
Six talks at Harvard
Contributors Amberson Video, Inc.
WGBH (Television station : Boston, Mass.)
Boston Symphony Orchestra, performer.
Wiener Philharmoniker, performer.
Participants/Performers Boston Symphony Orchestra ; Vienna Philharmonic (in lecture 5) ; Leonard Bernstein, conductor.
Other Contributors Written by Leonard Bernstein.
Language English
Notes Kultur: D1570 (D1451, D1453, D1455).
System Details DVD; Dolby digital sound, orchestral performances in stereo.
Description 6 videodiscs (793 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 0769715702 (6-disc set)
076971451X (lectures 1-2)
0769714536 (lectures 3-4)
0769714552 (lectures 5-6)
Other Classic View