Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

Twilight

by Meyer, Stephenie, 1973-

Format: Print Book 2008
Availability: Available at 3 Libraries 3 of 5 copies
Available (3)
Location Collection Call #
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Young Adult Fiction YA MEYER
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA MEYER
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA F MEYER
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA F MEYER
 
 
Plum Community Library Young Adult Fiction YA FIC MEY
Location  Plum Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA FIC MEY
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Dormont Public Library Young Adult MISSING
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  MISSING
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Closed Stacks BILLED
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Closed Stacks
 
Status  BILLED
 
 
Summary
The #1 New York Times bestseller is available for the first time in a mass market paperback edition, featuring a striking movie tie-in cover. Bella Swan's move to Forks, a small, perpetually rainy town in Washington, could have been the most boring move she ever made. But once she meets the mysterious and alluring Edward Cullen, Bella's life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn. Up until now, Edward has managed to keep his vampire identity a secret in the small community he lives in, but now nobody is safe, especially Bella, the person Edward holds most dear. Deeply romantic and extraordinarily suspenseful, Twilight captures the struggle between defying our instincts and satisfying our desires. This is a love story with bite.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Gr. 9-12. In the tradition of Anne Rice and YA titles such as Annette Curtis Klause's The0 Silver Kiss 0 (1999) comes this heady romance that intertwines Bella Swan's life with that of Edward, an alluring and tormented vampire. Bella's life changes when she moves to perpetually rain-soaked Forks, Washington. She is instantly drawn to a fellow student, Edward Cullen, beautiful beyond belief and angrily aloof. Bella senses there is more behind Edward's hostility, and in a plot that slowly and frighteningly unfolds, she learns that Edward and his family are vampires--though they do not hunt humans. Yet Edward cannot promise that his powerful attraction to Bella won't put in her in danger, or worse. Recklessly in love, Bella wants only to be with Edward, but when a vicious, blood-lusting predator complicates her world, Bella's peril is brutally revealed. This is a book of the senses: Edward is first attracted by Bella's scent; ironically, Bella is repelled when she sees blood. Their love is palpable, heightened by their touches, and teens will respond viscerally. There are some flaws here--a plot that could have been tightened, an overreliance on adjectives and adverbs to bolster dialogue--but this dark romance seeps into the soul. --Ilene Cooper Copyright 2005 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Isabella Swan, 17, narrates this riveting first novel, propelled by suspense and romance in equal parts. The story opens with a cryptic scene of the heroine "facing death," then flashes back to Bella's departure from Phoenix, where her mother lives with her new husband, as the teen heads off to live with her father, the police chief in Forks, Wash. From the first day at her new high school, she finds herself magnetically drawn to Edward Cullen, whose behavior towards her is erratic ("I'd just explained my dreary life to this bizarre, beautiful boy who may or may not despise me"). Then she finds out why his interest in her runs hot and cold: he is a vampire-but of an unusual variety. Edward, his siblings and their adoptive parents have disciplined themselves to feed on animals rather than humans; and Edward is obsessed with Bella. Other elements factor into the plot, including a rival group of vampires who are not as disciplined as the Cullens. This plot twist (which includes a subplot about one of the Cullens' past life) contributes to a rushed denouement (much of it takes place offstage) that is perhaps the novel's only weakness. The main draw here is Bella's infatuation with outsider Edward, the sense of danger inherent in their love, and Edward's inner struggle-a perfect metaphor for the sexual tension that accompanies adolescence. These will be familiar to nearly every teen, and will keep readers madly flipping the pages of Meyer's tantalizing debut. Ages 12-up. (Oct.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series Meyer, Stephenie, 1973- Twilight saga ; [1].
#1 - Twilight
#2 - New moon
#3 - Eclipse
#4 - Breaking Dawn
Subjects Vampires -- Juvenile fiction.
High schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Vampires -- Fiction.
High schools -- Fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Washington (State) -- Juvenile fiction.
Washington (State) -- Fiction.
Occult fiction.
Fantasy fiction.
Love stories.
Publisher New York :Little, Brown and Co.,2008
Edition 1st media tie-in ed.
Language English
Notes "Megan Tingley books."
Sequel: New moon.
Includes discussion questions.
Description 498 pages ; 21 cm.
ISBN 9780316038379 (pbk.)
0316038377 (pbk.)
9780316038386 (pbk.)
0316038385 (pbk.)
Other Classic View