Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

The curious garden

by Brown, Peter, 1979-

Format: Print Book 2009
Availability: Available at 25 Libraries 26 of 38 copies
Available (26)
Location Collection Call #
ACLA Mobile Library Services Preschool Children's Picture Books J PS PB BROWN
Location  ACLA Mobile Library Services
 
Collection  Preschool Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  J PS PB BROWN
 
 
Baldwin Borough Library Picture Book J BRO
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Picture Book
 
Call Number  J BRO
 
 
Brentwood Library Easy E Brown
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Easy
 
Call Number  E Brown
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Picture Books JUV E BRO
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  JUV E BRO
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Picture Books E Bro
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  E Bro
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Children's Picture Books qj FICTION Brown
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  qj FICTION Brown
 
 
CLP - Hazelwood Children's Picture Books qj FICTION Brown
Location  CLP - Hazelwood
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  qj FICTION Brown
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Picture Books qj FICTION Brown
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Picture Books
 
Call Number  qj FICTION Brown
 
 
Carnegie Library of Homestead Juvenile Picture Book J PIC Brow
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Book
 
Call Number  J PIC Brow
 
 
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Picture Books Je B
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  Je B
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Picture Book Picture Book Brown
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Picture Book
 
Call Number  Picture Book Brown
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Picture Book E BRO
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Picture Book
 
Call Number  E BRO
 
 
Jefferson Hills Public Library Juv Fiction E FIC BRO
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Juv Fiction
 
Call Number  E FIC BRO
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Picture Books J E BROWN
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Books
 
Call Number  J E BROWN
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Easy PICTURE BOOK JE BROWN
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Easy
 
Call Number  PICTURE BOOK JE BROWN
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Picture Books j Ea BROWN
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  j Ea BROWN
 
 
North Versailles Public Library Picture Book P BROW
Location  North Versailles Public Library
 
Collection  Picture Book
 
Call Number  P BROW
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Picture Book J PB BROWN
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Picture Book
 
Call Number  J PB BROWN
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Picture Book J PB BROWN
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Picture Book
 
Call Number  J PB BROWN
 
 
Penn Hills Library Juvenile Easys E j BRO
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Easys
 
Call Number  E j BRO
 
 
Plum Community Library Easy Reader E FIC BRO
Location  Plum Community Library
 
Collection  Easy Reader
 
Call Number  E FIC BRO
 
 
Robinson Library Juvenile Picture Books PICT FIC BROWN
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Books
 
Call Number  PICT FIC BROWN
 
 
Scott Township Library Picture Books E BROWN
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  E BROWN
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Juvenile Picture Book J E BRO
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Book
 
Call Number  J E BRO
 
 
Springdale Free Public Library Children's Picture Books CF BROW
Location  Springdale Free Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  CF BROW
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Picture Books PIC Brown
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  PIC Brown
 
 
 
Unavailable (12)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Carrick Children's Picture Books IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Lawrenceville Children's Picture Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Picture Books IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Picture Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Picture Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Picture Books IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Picture Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Picture Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Dormont Public Library Social STAFF USE
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Social
 
Status  STAFF USE
 
 
Hampton Community Library Juvenile Picture Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Picture Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Picture Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Picture Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Picture Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
This New York Times bestselling modern classic explores the perennial topic of environmentalism in an urban world, from the creator of The Wild Robot and Mr. Tiger Goes Wild

One boy's quest for a greener world... one garden at a time.

While out exploring one day, a little boy named Liam discovers a struggling garden and decides to take care of it. As time passes, the garden spreads throughout the dark, gray city, transforming it into a lush, green world.

This is an enchanting tale with environmental themes and breathtaking illustrations that become more vibrant as the garden blooms. Red-headed Liam can also be spotted on every page, adding a clever seek-and-find element to this captivating picture book.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "In a city without gardens or trees or greenery of any kind, a young, curious boy, Liam, discovers a few spindly flowers on an elevated train track. With pruning shears and water (and a few songs), he nurtures the little patch until it thrives and starts to spread. Soon, the entire track is covered in lush green. Throughout the snowy winter, the boy dreams and reads about plants, and when spring comes, his flowers inspire more gardeners all over the city. The simple words have a lyrical, rhythmic quality that will read aloud well, and they reinforce the sense that the natural world is a living, breathing character. It's the illustrations, though, that will engage kids most. Combining panels with full-page illustrations and many wordless spreads, the pages show the city's inspiring progression from a dull, dreary place to a fantastical, organic metropolis. An image of Liam on a stealth gardening mission, disguised in sunglasses, hat, and pint-size trenchcoat as he deposits sod and flowers onto a concrete strip, will amuse kids, even as it prompts them to think about unusual places gardens could grow in their own communities. An author's note about the story's real-life roots concludes. For more books about young gardeners, see the accompanying feature, Read-alikes: Green Thumbs. --Engberg, Gillian Copyright 2009 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Brown's (Chowder) latest is a quiet but stirring fable of urban renewal, sure to capture imaginations. In exploring his bleak city neighborhood, thoughtful Liam-in Brown's warm, almost fuzzy acrylic spreads, he looks a little like a friendly, redheaded wooden puppet-notices that some flowering plants have appeared on an old elevated railway track. He teaches himself to care for them ("The flowers nearly drowned and he had a few pruning problems, but the plants patiently waited while Liam found better ways of gardening"), and the garden responds by "growing restless. It wanted to explore." In one of several wordless spreads, Liam stands against a bright blue sky, surrounded by a thick patch of daisies. Spring brings a burst of new energy: "the tough little weeds and mosses set out first. They popped up farther and farther from the railway.... but the most surprising things that popped up were the new gardeners." In Brown's utopian vision, the urban and the pastoral mingle to joyfully harmonious effect-especially on the final pages, which show a city filled with rooftop gardens, fantastic topiaries, windmills and sparkling ponds. Ages 3-6. (Apr.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects City and town life -- Juvenile fiction.
Gardening -- Juvenile fiction.
Gardening -- Fiction.
City and town life -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :Little, Brown and Co.,2009
Edition 1st ed.
Language English
Description 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 29 cm
ISBN 9780316015479
0316015474
Other Classic View