Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

The curious garden

by Brown, Peter, 1979-

Format: Book on CD 2010
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Andrew Carnegie Free Library Juvenile Audio jCD Fic BROWN
Location  Andrew Carnegie Free Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Audio
 
Call Number  jCD Fic BROWN
 
 
Summary
The Curious Garden
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "In a city without gardens or trees or greenery of any kind, a young, curious boy, Liam, discovers a few spindly flowers on an elevated train track. With pruning shears and water (and a few songs), he nurtures the little patch until it thrives and starts to spread. Soon, the entire track is covered in lush green. Throughout the snowy winter, the boy dreams and reads about plants, and when spring comes, his flowers inspire more gardeners all over the city. The simple words have a lyrical, rhythmic quality that will read aloud well, and they reinforce the sense that the natural world is a living, breathing character. It's the illustrations, though, that will engage kids most. Combining panels with full-page illustrations and many wordless spreads, the pages show the city's inspiring progression from a dull, dreary place to a fantastical, organic metropolis. An image of Liam on a stealth gardening mission, disguised in sunglasses, hat, and pint-size trenchcoat as he deposits sod and flowers onto a concrete strip, will amuse kids, even as it prompts them to think about unusual places gardens could grow in their own communities. An author's note about the story's real-life roots concludes. For more books about young gardeners, see the accompanying feature, Read-alikes: Green Thumbs. --Engberg, Gillian Copyright 2009 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Brown's (Chowder) latest is a quiet but stirring fable of urban renewal, sure to capture imaginations. In exploring his bleak city neighborhood, thoughtful Liam-in Brown's warm, almost fuzzy acrylic spreads, he looks a little like a friendly, redheaded wooden puppet-notices that some flowering plants have appeared on an old elevated railway track. He teaches himself to care for them ("The flowers nearly drowned and he had a few pruning problems, but the plants patiently waited while Liam found better ways of gardening"), and the garden responds by "growing restless. It wanted to explore." In one of several wordless spreads, Liam stands against a bright blue sky, surrounded by a thick patch of daisies. Spring brings a burst of new energy: "the tough little weeds and mosses set out first. They popped up farther and farther from the railway.... but the most surprising things that popped up were the new gardeners." In Brown's utopian vision, the urban and the pastoral mingle to joyfully harmonious effect-especially on the final pages, which show a city filled with rooftop gardens, fantastic topiaries, windmills and sparkling ponds. Ages 3-6. (Apr.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Gardening -- Fiction.
City and town life -- Fiction.
Gardening -- Juvenile fiction -- Juvenile sound recordings.
City and town life -- Juvenile fiction -- Juvenile sound recordings.
Children's audiobooks.
Publisher Prince Frederick, MD :Recorded Books,2010
Edition Unabridged ed.
Contributors Moore, Christina, narrator.
Recorded Books, LLC.
Participants/Performers Narrated by Christina Moore.
Audience 4 years and up.
Language English
Notes Compact disc.
Title from container.
In container (17 cm.)
"With tracks every 3-6 minutes for easy book marking"--Container.
"The same text is on both discs. Disc 2 has page-turn signals"--Container.
Description 2 audio discs (15 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 9781440777417
1440777411
Other Classic View