Georges Delerue

Language and/or Subtitles: English
Format: DVD 2007
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library Second Floor Film & Audio - Nonfiction Video (DVD) ML410.D3428 G46 2007x
Location  CLP - Main Library
Collection  Second Floor Film & Audio - Nonfiction Video
Call Number  (DVD) ML410.D3428 G46 2007x
This is a documentary and celebration of motion picture composer Georges Delerue, who composed music for more than 200 films over a 40-year career span. Delerue worked for some of the finest French New Wave and Hollywood cinema directors and composed some haunting music for such classic films as Hiroshima Mon Amour, Jules et Jim, The Last Metro, Steel Magnolias, Salvador, and Platoon. This documentary includes interviews with Georges Delerue, directors Ken Russell and Oliver Stone, archival footage of Delerue's life, and clips from the films Delerue scored, including Shoot the Piano Player, Women in Love, Two English Girls, and The Story of Adele H. ~ Forrest Spencer, Rovi
George Delerue highlights the career of a quintessential Frenchman whose music shaped many of the most striking films of the French New Wave, Resnais's Hiroshima Mon Amour to Truffaut's Jules and Jim among them.
Additional Information
Series Music for the movies.
Subjects Delerue, Georges, -- 1925-1992. -- Motion picture music.
Motion picture music -- History and criticism.
Composers -- France -- Biography.
Motion picture producers and directors -- Interviews.
Documentary films.
Biographical films.
Publisher West Long Branch, NJ :Kultur,2007
Contributors Delerue, Georges, 1925-1992.
Comolli, Jean-Louis, director.
Jeanneau, Yves, producer.
Le Goff, Christine, producer.
Films d'ici (Firm), production company.
Alternate Current (Firm), production company.
Sept/Arte (Firm), production company.
Société des auteurs, compositeurs et éditeurs de musique (France), production company.
Kultur International Films.
Other Contributors Editor, Anne Baudry ; director of photography, Jean-Louis Porto.
Language English
English and French with English subtitles.
Notes Originally produced as a motion picture in 1994.
System Details DVD; Dolby Digital.
Description 1 videodisc (59 min.) : sound, color with black and white sequences ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 0769785905
Other Classic View