Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

The curious garden

by Brown, Peter, 1979-

Format: Book on CD 2010
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Bridgeville Public Library Picture Books JUV E BRO
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  JUV E BRO
 
 
Summary
This New York Times bestselling modern classic explores the perennial topic of environmentalism in an urban world, from the creator of The Wild Robot and Mr. Tiger Goes Wild

One boy's quest for a greener world... one garden at a time.

While out exploring one day, a little boy named Liam discovers a struggling garden and decides to take care of it. As time passes, the garden spreads throughout the dark, gray city, transforming it into a lush, green world.

This is an enchanting tale with environmental themes and breathtaking illustrations that become more vibrant as the garden blooms. Red-headed Liam can also be spotted on every page, adding a clever seek-and-find element to this captivating picture book.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "In a city without gardens or trees or greenery of any kind, a young, curious boy, Liam, discovers a few spindly flowers on an elevated train track. With pruning shears and water (and a few songs), he nurtures the little patch until it thrives and starts to spread. Soon, the entire track is covered in lush green. Throughout the snowy winter, the boy dreams and reads about plants, and when spring comes, his flowers inspire more gardeners all over the city. The simple words have a lyrical, rhythmic quality that will read aloud well, and they reinforce the sense that the natural world is a living, breathing character. It's the illustrations, though, that will engage kids most. Combining panels with full-page illustrations and many wordless spreads, the pages show the city's inspiring progression from a dull, dreary place to a fantastical, organic metropolis. An image of Liam on a stealth gardening mission, disguised in sunglasses, hat, and pint-size trenchcoat as he deposits sod and flowers onto a concrete strip, will amuse kids, even as it prompts them to think about unusual places gardens could grow in their own communities. An author's note about the story's real-life roots concludes. For more books about young gardeners, see the accompanying feature, Read-alikes: Green Thumbs. --Engberg, Gillian Copyright 2009 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Brown's (Chowder) latest is a quiet but stirring fable of urban renewal, sure to capture imaginations. In exploring his bleak city neighborhood, thoughtful Liam-in Brown's warm, almost fuzzy acrylic spreads, he looks a little like a friendly, redheaded wooden puppet-notices that some flowering plants have appeared on an old elevated railway track. He teaches himself to care for them ("The flowers nearly drowned and he had a few pruning problems, but the plants patiently waited while Liam found better ways of gardening"), and the garden responds by "growing restless. It wanted to explore." In one of several wordless spreads, Liam stands against a bright blue sky, surrounded by a thick patch of daisies. Spring brings a burst of new energy: "the tough little weeds and mosses set out first. They popped up farther and farther from the railway.... but the most surprising things that popped up were the new gardeners." In Brown's utopian vision, the urban and the pastoral mingle to joyfully harmonious effect-especially on the final pages, which show a city filled with rooftop gardens, fantastic topiaries, windmills and sparkling ponds. Ages 3-6. (Apr.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Gardening -- Fiction.
City and town life -- Fiction.
Children's audiobooks.
Audiobooks.
Publisher [Weston, Conn..] :Weston Woods/Scholastic,2010
Edition Unabridged.
Contributors Kellgren, Katherine.
Mansfield, David.
Participants/Performers Narrated by Katherine Kellgren.
Other Contributors Music by David Mansfield.
Audience 4 years and up.
Language English
Notes Compact disc.
Title from container.
"Story with and without page-turn signals.
Includes "Author's note" and "An interview with Peter Brown".
Description 1 audio disc (approximately 25 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in. + 1 book ([36] pages : color illustrations ; 29 cm)
ISBN 9780316015479 (hc.)
0316015474 (hc.)
9780545296595 (disc)
0545296595 (disc)
Other Classic View