The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls

by Legrand, Claire, 1986-

Format: Print Book 2012
Availability: Available at 3 Libraries 3 of 3 copies
Available (3)
Location Collection Call #
Carnegie Library of McKeesport Children Fiction J LEG
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  Children Fiction
 
Call Number  J LEG
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction J FIC LEGRAND
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC LEGRAND
 
 
South Park Library Juvenile jF LEG
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Call Number  jF LEG
 
 
Summary
At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. A dark, timeless, and heartfelt novel for fans of Coraline and The Mysterious Benedict Society .

Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is perfect. The only smudge on her pristine life is her best friend Lawrence. He is a disaster--lazy and dreamy, shirt always untucked, obsessed with his silly piano. Victoria often wonders why she ever bothered being his friend. (Lawrence does too.)

But then Lawrence goes missing. And he's not the only one. Victoria soon discovers that The Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls is not what it appears to be. Kids go in but come out...different. Or they don't come out at all.

If anyone can sort this out, it's Victoria--even if it means getting a little messy.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "The town of Belleville likes things to be perfect, and no one is more in agreement than 12-year-old Victoria: perfect student, perfect daughter. She takes on a fellow classmate the imperfect Lawrence as a project, but he's also her only friend, so when he disappears, the determined Victoria sets out to find him. She knows where to look, too: the home for orphan boys and girls run by the seemingly sweet but truly diabolical Mrs. Cavendish. First-time author Legrand sets everything up beautifully, but once Victoria gets scooped up by Mrs. Cavendish, the story descends into something more ugly than scary, especially when Victoria is thrown into the hanger to be assaulted with disgusting bugs and sad visions. Nor do the reasons for Mrs. Cavendish's actions ever make much sense. Even sadists usually have a story they tell to justify themselves. Still, this has many of the elements that endeared readers to books like Roald Dahl's Matilda (1988) and Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events titles. It's also a handsome piece of bookmaking, with the art adding much to the package.--Cooper, Ilene Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "The too-serene-to-be-true town of Belleville harbors some creepy secrets in Legrand's debut, a sinister and occasionally playful tale of suspense. Twelve-year-old perfectionist Victoria Wright has bouncy curls, a fixation on achieving straight As, and just one friend-unkempt, artistic Lawrence, who she considers her "personal project." But when Lawrence disappears, and Victoria launches an investigation to find him, she discovers more frightening trouble than she imagined. Victoria unravels the mystery behind the titular home for children, which is run by the ageless Mrs. Cavendish and a fiendish gardener/assistant. Hair-raising adventures involving slimy hidden passageways, pinching swarms of cockroaches, mystery meat, and the wrath of cruel Mrs. Cavendish fill the pages. Legrand gives Victoria's mission a prickly energy, and her descriptions of the sighing, heaving home-a character in itself-are the stuff of bad dreams. Watts's b&w illustrations of spindly characters, cryptic shadows, and cramped corridors amplify the unsettling ambiance, and her roach motif may have readers checking their arms. Ages 10-up. Agent: Diana Fox, Fox Literary. (Sept.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."

Additional Information
Subjects Fairy tales.
Best friends -- Fiction.
Friendship -- Fiction.
Perfectionism -- Fiction.
Orphanages -- Fiction.
Missing children -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers,2012
Edition 1st ed.
Contributors Watts, Sarah (Sarah Lynn), 1986-
Language English
Description viii, 343 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781442442917 (hardcover)
1442442913 (hardcover)
Other Classic View