The Tragedy Paper

by LaBan, Elizabeth.

Format: Print Book 2013
Availability: Available at 4 Libraries 4 of 6 copies
Available (4)
Location Collection Call #
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Young Adult Fiction YA LaBAN
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA LaBAN
 
 
Crafton Public Library Young Adult - Fiction YA F LABAN 2013 CRAFTON 1/13
Location  Crafton Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult - Fiction
 
Call Number  YA F LABAN 2013 CRAFTON 1/13
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA F LaBAN
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA F LaBAN
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Teen Fiction YA LaBan
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  YA LaBan
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Moon Township Public Library Young Adult Fiction STORAGE
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  STORAGE
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Young Adult Fiction STORAGE
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  STORAGE
 
 
Summary
Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska , Jennifer Weiner, #1 New York Times bestselling author, calls Elizabeth LaBan's The Tragedy Paper "a beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak."

It follows the story of Tim Macbeth, a seventeen-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is "Enter here to be and find a friend." A friend is the last thing Tim expects or wants--he just hopes to get through his senior year unnoticed. Yet, despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential "It" girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving's most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, but she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone ever finds out. Tim and Vanessa begin a clandestine romance, but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper, Irving's version of a senior year thesis, assigned by the school's least forgiving teacher.

Jumping between viewpoints of the love-struck Tim and Duncan, a current senior about to uncover the truth of Tim and Vanessa, The Tragedy Paper is a compelling tale of forbidden love and the lengths people will go to keep their secrets.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* It's an Irving School tradition: each graduating senior chooses the incoming senior who will inherit his dorm room and leaves a treasure for the new occupant. Duncan hardly expects his treasure to be life changing. After all, it's just a stack of CDs narrated by Tim, the strange albino student who came to Irving for the first time last year. Yet as Duncan becomes more obsessed with each successive CD, he also becomes more determined to make the most of his senior year opportunities with fellow student Daisy and as the organizer of this year's senior game. Debut novelist LaBan takes us into private-school culture as well as the heads of two charming yet very different teenage boys and their parallel love stories. Eventually, LaBan's ever-building suspense reaches a harrowing climax. The private school aura heightens the book's fascination. Nonexistent parents; well-intentioned, likable faculty on the periphery; elaborate dorm rooms with overstuffed closets; and even the romantic, snow-covered campus all contribute to a setting that adds heft and intrigue. Finally, LaBan weaves a single underlying thread through both boys' narratives the tragedy paper. A senior-year requirement possessing its own myths and legends and assigned by the very exacting, personable Mr. Simon, the paper must answer for both the Irving graduate and the reader the ultimate question: how do you define tragedy?--Bradburn, Frances Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "The legend of a curse "that every year a senior would leave for some unforeseen reason" provides an eerie backdrop to this story set at Irving, a prestigious, tradition-laden boarding school. Foreshadowing and dramatic tension build through alternating, parallel narratives of two seniors in consecutive years, as details of a tragedy involving both boys gradually unfold. Duncan, occupying a room previously inhabited by recent graduate Tim, inherits Tim's CD recordings describing "the words, the music, my downfall, as well as your perceived or actual role in it." Tim's first-person voice is a compelling combination of compassion and analysis, revealing his lifelong challenge of albinism, the unexpected romantic triangle he enters into, and choices that set in motion unfortunate events. Narrative transitions to Duncan's third-person viewpoint are occasionally jarring; like Duncan, readers will likely find Tim's senior year trials more interesting. As the relationship between the two characters becomes clearer, however, Duncan's tale conveys greater dramatic resonance. A playful element infuses the story as tragic themes described in English class play out in the characters' dramas, adding texture to this strong debut. Ages 12-up. Agent: Uwe Stender, TriadaUS Literary Agency. (Jan.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Interpersonal relations -- Fiction.
Dating (Social customs) -- Fiction.
Boarding schools -- Fiction.
High schools -- Fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Albinos and albinism -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :Alfred A. Knopf,2013
Edition 1st ed.
Language English
Description 312 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780375870408
0375870407
9780375970405 (library binding)
0375970401 (library binding)
Other Classic View