You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Secrets of the lighthouse

by Montefiore, Santa, 1970-

Format: Print Book 2014
Availability: Available at 11 Libraries 11 of 14 copies
Available (11)
Location Collection Call #
Baldwin Borough Library Fiction MON
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  MON
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks FICTION Montefiore
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
 
Call Number  FICTION Montefiore
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Fiction Fic Montefio
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  Fic Montefio
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Adult Fiction F MON
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  F MON
 
 
Hampton Community Library Fiction F MONTEFIORE
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F MONTEFIORE
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Fiction MONTEFIORE Santa
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  MONTEFIORE Santa
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Fiction MONTEFIORE Santa
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  MONTEFIORE Santa
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Fiction FIC MONTE
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC MONTE
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction MONTEFIORE
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  MONTEFIORE
 
 
South Park Library Fiction F MONTEFIO
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F MONTEFIO
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Fiction Collection FIC Montefiore
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FIC Montefiore
 
 
 
Unavailable (3)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Lawrenceville Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Womens' Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Womens' Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Summary
Set in Ireland on the wild coast of Connemara, this hauntingly romantic novel tells the story of a young woman who goes in search of her family's past and ends up discovering her future.

Ellen Trawton is running away from it all. She hates her job, she doesn't love the aristocratic man to whom she is engaged, and her relationship with her controlling mother is becoming increasingly strained. So Ellen leaves London, fleeing to the one place she knows her mother won't find her, her aunt's cottage in Connemara. Cutting all her ties with chic London society, Ellen gives in to Ireland's charm and warmth, thinking her future may lie where so much of her past has been hidden. Her imagination is soon captured by the compelling ruins of a lighthouse where, five years earlier, a young mother died in a fire.

The ghost of the young wife, Caitlin, haunts the nearby castle, mourning the future she can never have there. Unable to move on, she watches her husband and children, hoping they might see her and feel her love once more. But she doesn't anticipate her husband falling in love again. Can she prevent it? Or can she let go and find a way to freedom and happiness?

The ruggedly beautiful Connemara coastline with its tightknit community of unforgettable characters provides the backdrop for this poignant story of two women seeking the peace and love they desperately need. For each, the key will be found in the secrets of the past, illuminated by the lighthouse.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Ellen Trawton has a comfortable job at a posh London jewelry company, and her fiancé, William, is perfectly pleasant, but she still finds herself with a major case of pre-wedding cold feet. Armed with a suitcase, the phone number of an aunt she's never met, and a faux-fur jacket totally inappropriate for the Irish countryside, Ellen escapes to the tiny town of Ballymaldoon to clear her head. She never expects to meet the other half of a family she knows nothing about or to fall in love with Ballymaldoon itself. While she's happy to learn more about her past while contemplating her future, Ellen has no idea how quickly her life will change. A story of history, fate, and second chances, Secrets of the Lighthouse is a romantic, introspective escape. Montefiore offers a glimpse of small-town Irish life, and a heartbreaking mystery provides another layer of tragic romance. Montefiore's use of the mysterious victim as one of the narrators is an excellent way to provide an omniscient view of Ballymaldoon. Fans of Maeve Binchy and Lucinda Riley will adore this captivating, enchanting novel.--Turza, Stephanie Copyright 2014 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Montefiore (The Summer House) has penned a lyrical novel rich with ghostly beings, love, and loss set along the idyllic Connemara coastline of Ireland. Ellen Trawton escapes her very proper London life and fiance to visit her Aunt Peg in Ballymaldoon, Ireland. She becomes enchanted with the town and meets her mother's siblings for the first time. Yet it is the lure of an old lighthouse that beckons most to Ellen, who is an aspiring author hoping to find inspiration in Ireland. When Ellen meets the elusive Conor Macausland, she is instantly smitten with him. As Ellen and Conor spend time together, a subtle but intense attraction springs up between them. Despite the mystery surrounding the death of Conor's first wife, Ellen is caught in the lure of his promising sensuality. Unbeknownst to the lovers, Conor's first wife, though a ghostly figure, is jealous of their blossoming love. Ellen discovers the truth behind her mother's abrupt departure from Ballymaldoon decades before, even as she learns to cope with those she left behind in London. (Aug.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Mothers and daughters -- Fiction.
Adult children -- Family relationships -- Fiction.
Extended families -- Fiction.
Lighthouses -- Fiction.
Ireland -- Fiction.
Mystery fiction.
Romantic suspense fiction.
Publisher New York :2014
Edition First Simon & Schuster edition.
Language English
Description 433 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781476735375 (hardcover)
1476735379 (hardcover)
Other Classic View