You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Little mercies

by Gudenkauf, Heather,

Format: Print Book 2014
Availability: Available at 18 Libraries 18 of 20 copies
Available (18)
Location Collection Call #
Andrew Bayne Memorial Library Fiction Fic Gude
Location  Andrew Bayne Memorial Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  Fic Gude
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Fiction FIC GUDENKAUF Heather
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC GUDENKAUF Heather
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Fiction Collection FICTION Gudenkauf
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Gudenkauf
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks FICTION Gudenkauf
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
 
Call Number  FICTION Gudenkauf
 
 
CLP - South Side Fiction FICTION Gudenkauf
Location  CLP - South Side
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Gudenkauf
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection FICTION Gudenkauf
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Gudenkauf
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Fiction FIC GUD
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC GUD
 
 
Dormont Public Library Fiction F GUDE
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F GUDE
 
 
Hampton Community Library Fiction F GUDENKAUF
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F GUDENKAUF
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Fiction GUDENKAUF Heather
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  GUDENKAUF Heather
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Adult Paperback Rack REAL F GUDENKAU Heather
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Paperback Rack
 
Call Number  REAL F GUDENKAU Heather
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Fiction FIC GUDEN
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC GUDEN
 
 
Northland Public Library Fiction FIC GUDENKAUF
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC GUDENKAUF
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Fiction GU
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  GU
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction FIC GUDENKAU
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC GUDENKAU
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction GUDENKAUF pbk
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  GUDENKAUF pbk
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Womens' Fiction WOMENS GUDENKAUF Heather
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Womens' Fiction
 
Call Number  WOMENS GUDENKAUF Heather
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Fiction Collection FIC Gudenkauf
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FIC Gudenkauf
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Penn Hills Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Adult Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Summary
In her latest ripped-from-the-headlines tour de force, New York Times bestselling author Heather Gudenkauf shows how one small mistake can have life-altering consequences...

Veteran social worker Ellen Moore has seen the worst side of humanity--the vilest acts one person can commit against another. She is a fiercely dedicated children's advocate and a devoted mother and wife. But one blistering summer day, a simple moment of distraction will have repercussions that Ellen could never have imagined, threatening to shatter everything she holds dear, and trapping her between the gears of the system she works for.

Meanwhile, ten-year-old Jenny Briard has been living with her well-meaning but irresponsible father since her mother left them, sleeping on friends' couches and moving in and out of cheap motels. When Jenny suddenly finds herself on her own, she is forced to survive with nothing but a few dollars and her street smarts. The last thing she wants is a social worker, but when Ellen's and Jenny's lives collide, little do they know just how much they can help one another.

A powerful and emotionally charged tale about motherhood and justice, Little Mercies is a searing portrait of the tenuous grasp we have on the things we love the most, and of the ties that unexpectedly bring us together.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "As a social worker, Ellen Moore is regrettably familiar with the types of abuse adults can inflict on children. She's seen burns, bruises, and deeper, psychological scars. Ellen's casework has always bled into her home life as she plans routes to home visits while cooking breakfast or wakes up from a nightmare about one of her most violent cases. After Ellen accidentally leaves her one-year-old daughter in the family's minivan during the hottest day of the year, Ellen finds herself on the other side of the law. Slapped with the liabilities that accompany such a terrible accident, Ellen is forced to confront the very system she knows so well. An unlikely ally enters her life, and Ellen's mission to rebuild her relationships with her family, friends, and colleagues might be within her grasp. A story of motherhood, guilt, and redemption, Little Mercies examines our deepest fears and highest hopes. Gudenkauf's prose is searingly raw, as Ellen's confusion, guilt, and pain are laid bare. Thrilling and emotionally tender, this novel, with its driving pace, will appeal to fans of Lisa Scottoline and Jodi Picoult.--Turza, Stephanie Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Like her debut, The Weight of Silence, Gudenkauf's latest explores the vulnerability of children, this time through two linked stories narrated in alternating chapters. Social worker Ellen Moore juggles responsibility for three children, a husband, a widowed mother, and a caseload of endangered children. One hot and hectic July morning, she rushes out of her house in Cedar City, Iowa, to help a troubled family, barely hearing her husband's goodbyes. Only later does she realize that Adam, asking her to bring their infant daughter Avery to daycare, has put the child into their van. As Avery is rushed to the hospital with life-threatening heatstroke, Ellen faces a familiar investigation-this time as an accused perpetrator of child endangerment herself. Out on bail but prohibited from seeing Avery, she finds refuge at her mother's house. Meanwhile, 10-year-old Jenny Briard runs away from her home in Nebraska after her alcoholic father is arrested. When Jenny ends up in Cedar City, she is found and taken in by Ellen's lonely mother, Maudene. Helping her mother decide what to do with the girl, Ellen realizes that clues to the secrets of Jenny's past are within her own case files. With its compelling premise, Ellen's story is more gripping than Jenny's. But its hurried denouement feels false and sentimental, denying the more nuanced resolution her complex situation deserves. (July) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Women social workers -- Fiction.
Life change events -- Fiction.
Motherhood -- Fiction.
Publisher Don Mills, Ontario, Canada :2014
Language English
Notes Includes reader's guide.
Description 304 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN 9780778316336 (trade paperback)
0778316335 (trade paperback)
Other Classic View