You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for 72 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Black-eyed susans : a novel of suspense

by Heaberlin, Julia,

Format: Print Book 2015
Availability: Available at 21 Libraries 21 of 22 copies
Available (21)
Location Collection Call #
Baldwin Borough Library Fiction HEA
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  HEA
 
 
CLP - Carrick Fiction Collection FICTION Heaberlin
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Heaberlin
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Fiction Collection FICTION Heaberlin
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Heaberlin
 
 
CLP - Lawrenceville Fiction Collection FICTION Heaberlin
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Heaberlin
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks FICTION Heaberlin
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
 
Call Number  FICTION Heaberlin
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection FICTION Heaberlin
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Heaberlin
 
 
CLP - West End Fiction Collection FICTION Heaberlin
Location  CLP - West End
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Heaberlin
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport Fiction F HEA
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F HEA
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Fiction FIC HEA
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC HEA
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library New Books HEA
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  HEA
 
 
Hampton Community Library Fiction F HEABERLIN
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F HEABERLIN
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Fiction HEABERLIN Julia
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  HEABERLIN Julia
 
 
Northland Public Library Fiction FIC HEABERLIN
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC HEABERLIN
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Fiction HE
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  HE
 
 
Penn Hills Library Fiction HEA
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  HEA
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Adult Fiction Fic Heaberlin
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  Fic Heaberlin
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction HEABERLIN
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  HEABERLIN
 
 
South Park Library Mystery F-M HEABERLI
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  F-M HEABERLI
 
 
Springdale Free Public Library Fiction AF HEAB
Location  Springdale Free Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  AF HEAB
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Thriller Fiction THRILLER HEABERLIN Julia
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Thriller Fiction
 
Call Number  THRILLER HEABERLIN Julia
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Fiction Collection FIC Heaberlin
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FIC Heaberlin
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
TOP 5 SUNDAY TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER * For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense.

"My book of the year so far . . . breathtakingly, heart-stoppingly brilliant."--Sophie Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of The Monogram Murders

I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories. I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans. The lucky one.

As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving "Black-Eyed Susan," the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa's testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row.

Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans--a summertime bloom--just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications--that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large--Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution. But the flowers alone are not proof enough, and the forensic investigation of the still-unidentified bones is progressing too slowly. An innocent life hangs in the balance. The legal team appeals to Tessa to undergo hypnosis to retrieve lost memories--and to share the drawings she produced as part of an experimental therapy shortly after her rescue.

What they don't know is that Tessa and the scared, fragile girl she was have built a fortress of secrets. As the clock ticks toward the execution, Tessa fears for her sanity, but even more for the safety of her teenaged daughter. Is a serial killer still roaming free, taunting Tessa with a trail of clues? She has no choice but to confront old ghosts and lingering nightmares to finally discover what really happened that night.

Shocking, intense, and utterly original, Black-Eyed Susans is a dazzling psychological thriller, seamlessly weaving past and present in a searing tale of a young woman whose harrowing memories remain in a field of flowers--as a killer makes a chilling return to his garden.

Praise for Black-Eyed Susans

"A masterful thriller that shouldn't be missed . . . brilliantly conceived, beautifully executed . . . [Julia] Heaberlin's work calls to mind that of Gillian Flynn. Both writers published impressive early novels that were largely overlooked, and then one that couldn't be: Flynn's Gone Girl and now Heaberlin's Black-Eyed Susans . Don't miss it." -- The Washington Post

"[A] gem of a novel . . . richly textured, beautifully written . . . Tension builds, and the plot twists feel earned as well as genuinely surprising." -- The Boston Globe

"A tense, slow-burning, beautifully written novel of survival and hope. Highly recommended." --William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob

"Deliciously twisty and eerie, Heaberlin's third psychological suspense novel is intricately layered and instantly compelling." -- Library Journal (starred review)

"Brilliant . . . a breakout book." -- Fort Worth Star-Telegram
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "When Tessa was 17, she and three other girls were dumped in a field in Texas, presumed dead, by a serial killer on a spree. Tessa was the only one to survive and lived to testify against the man police picked up. The victims, including Tessa, were dubbed the Black-Eyed Susans. Now, it's 17 years later, and one month until the convicted killer faces execution. Tessa is still haunted by what happened that day and in that field, but also by the fact that black-eyed Susans have just been planted outside her home. Is the killer still out there? Has Tessa helped convict the wrong man? Tessa decides to work with the defense and testify again. The novel moves between the present and 1995, the year of the murders. Tessa's first-person narration is wonderful at showing her doubt and trauma in both times. One flaw is the novel's length: the suspense, very high at first, gets a bit drawn out over 350-plus pages. Still, this is an absorbing character study and a good choice for readers who want to want to really sink into a psychological thriller.--Fletcher, Connie Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "This gripping psychological thriller from Heaberlin (Lie Still) alternates between the present and 1995, when 16-year-old Tessie Cartwright went missing and was subsequently found in a Texas wheat field covered by black-eyed Susans, barely alive, on top of three female corpses, two long dead and one only about a day old. Though the traumatized Tessie can recall only flashes of the incident, she testifies in the trial against accused serial killer Terrell Darcy Goodwin; Terrell is sentenced to death but is still alive on death row years later when someone plants black-eyed Susans in Tessie's yard, a possible taunt from the real perpetrator. Still lacking recall, Tessie nevertheless agrees to help a group that fights to get death row convictions stayed or overturned. Aided by Terrell's defense attorney and a DNA expert, she races to find evidence sufficient to prevent Terrell's execution and to discover what really happened. The suspense builds as Tessie uncovers devastating secrets from the past en route to the shocking ending. Agent: Pam Ahearn, Ahearn Agency. (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Murder victims -- Fiction.
Serial murders -- Fiction.
Witnesses -- Fiction.
Suspense fiction.
Publisher New York :2015
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 354 pages ; 25 cm
ISBN 9780804177993
0804177996
Other Classic View