Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

Fangirl

by Rowell, Rainbow,

Format: Print Book 2015
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 4 copies
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA ROWELL Rainbow
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA ROWELL Rainbow
 
 
 
Unavailable (3)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Plum Community Library Young Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Plum Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Young Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

This special edition includes fan art, a ribbon bookmark, a Q&A with the author, and an excerpt from her new book Carry On.

In Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl , Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life-and she's really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it's what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath's sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can't let go. She doesn't want to.
Now that they're going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn't want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She's got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can't stop worrying about her dad, who's loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

A New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2013
A New York Times Best Seller!

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* Much of the literary fandoms we see are dominated by bookish girls writing and posting online fan fiction, often romantic in nature and frequently featuring gay, nontraditional relationships. But this is Cath's world. Her fandom is the Simon Snow series. Simon is a Harry Potter-like figure who battles vampires and the Humdrum, a creature bent on ridding the world of magic. Devotees by the thousands read Cath's two-year-long opus Carry On, a piece she's determined to complete before the release of the final installment of the series. However, life has intervened: she's starting college with her twin sister, Wren, who has demanded separate dorm rooms so they could both meet new people. An awakening unfolds, as Cath battles loneliness, her father's mental illness, a new writing class, and feelings for her dorm mate's friendly part-time boyfriend. This is an epic writ small; the magic here is cast not with wands but with Rowell's incredible ability to build complex, vivid, troubling, and triumphant relationships. The internal lives of the characters are so well developed that it is almost surprising to remember that Rowell is writing in third person. Fans of Eleanor & Park (2013) and other novels about, nerdy types will thrill at finding such a fantastic and lasting depiction of one of their own.--Jones, Courtney Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Cath's freshman year at the University of Nebraska does not begin well: her roommate is aloof and scary; her identical twin sister, Wren, ignores her in favor of beer and some airheaded new friends; and Cath has too much social anxiety to even find the cafeteria. Narrator Rebecca Lowman reads most of this coming-of-age novel, giving depth to Cath and many of the book's other characters. One of the more delightful aspects of this audio production is the occasional appearance of Maxwell Caulfield, who is the narrator of the Harry Potter-like fantasy novels that Cath is obsessed with and upon which she bases copious fan fiction. Caulfield's clipped tones poke gentle fun at Cath's fixation without mocking it, and becomes comically seductive when he reads pieces of Cath's fan fiction about the forbidden passion between her two main characters-vignettes that relate to elements in Cath's own life. Ages 13-up. A St. Martin's Griffin hardcover. (Sept.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Groupies -- Fiction.
Authorship -- Fiction.
Twins -- Fiction.
Sisters -- Fiction.
College students -- Fiction.
Fan fiction -- Fiction.
Fathers and daughters -- Fiction.
College stories.
Romance fiction.
Bildungsromans.
Young adult fiction.
Publisher New York :2015
Edition First special edition.
Other Titles Fan girl
Language English
Notes First published in New York by St. Martin's Griffin in 2013.
"Special edition includes fan art, a ribbon bookmark, an exclusive Q & A with the author, and an excerpt from her new book, Carry on" --Back jacket cover.
Illustrations on endpapers.
Description 455 pages : illustrations (some color) ; 22 cm
ISBN 1250073804
9781250073808
Other Classic View