You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for 72 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Black-eyed susans a novel of suspense

by Heaberlin, Julia,

Format: Book on CD 2015
Availability: Available at 3 Libraries 3 of 3 copies
Available (3)
Location Collection Call #
ACLA Mobile Library Services Audios AB HEAB
Location  ACLA Mobile Library Services
 
Collection  Audios
 
Call Number  AB HEAB
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Audio CD HEABERLIN Julia Unabridged
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Audio
 
Call Number  CD HEABERLIN Julia Unabridged
 
 
Whitehall Public Library AudioBook Collection ABOCD Heaberlin
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  AudioBook Collection
 
Call Number  ABOCD Heaberlin
 
 
Summary

For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense.

I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories.
I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans.
The lucky one.

As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving "Black-Eyed Susan," the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa's testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row.

Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans--a summertime bloom--just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications--that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large--Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution. But the flowers alone are not proof enough, and the forensic investigation of the still-unidentified bones is progressing too slowly. An innocent life hangs in the balance. The legal team appeals to Tessa to undergo hypnosis to retrieve lost memories--and to share the drawings she produced as part of an experimental therapy shortly after her rescue.

What they don't know is that Tessa and the scared, fragile girl she was have built a fortress of secrets. As the clock ticks toward the execution, Tessa fears for her sanity, but even more for the safety of her teenaged daughter. Is a serial killer still roaming free, taunting Tessa with a trail of clues? She has no choice but to confront old ghosts and lingering nightmares to finally discover what really happened that night.

Shocking, intense, and utterly original, Black-Eyed Susans is a dazzling psychological thriller, seamlessly weaving past and present in a searing tale of a young woman whose harrowing memories remain in a field of flowers--as a killer makes a chilling return to his garden.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "When Tessa was 17, she and three other girls were dumped in a field in Texas, presumed dead, by a serial killer on a spree. Tessa was the only one to survive and lived to testify against the man police picked up. The victims, including Tessa, were dubbed the Black-Eyed Susans. Now, it's 17 years later, and one month until the convicted killer faces execution. Tessa is still haunted by what happened that day and in that field, but also by the fact that black-eyed Susans have just been planted outside her home. Is the killer still out there? Has Tessa helped convict the wrong man? Tessa decides to work with the defense and testify again. The novel moves between the present and 1995, the year of the murders. Tessa's first-person narration is wonderful at showing her doubt and trauma in both times. One flaw is the novel's length: the suspense, very high at first, gets a bit drawn out over 350-plus pages. Still, this is an absorbing character study and a good choice for readers who want to want to really sink into a psychological thriller.--Fletcher, Connie Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "This gripping psychological thriller from Heaberlin (Lie Still) alternates between the present and 1995, when 16-year-old Tessie Cartwright went missing and was subsequently found in a Texas wheat field covered by black-eyed Susans, barely alive, on top of three female corpses, two long dead and one only about a day old. Though the traumatized Tessie can recall only flashes of the incident, she testifies in the trial against accused serial killer Terrell Darcy Goodwin; Terrell is sentenced to death but is still alive on death row years later when someone plants black-eyed Susans in Tessie's yard, a possible taunt from the real perpetrator. Still lacking recall, Tessie nevertheless agrees to help a group that fights to get death row convictions stayed or overturned. Aided by Terrell's defense attorney and a DNA expert, she races to find evidence sufficient to prevent Terrell's execution and to discover what really happened. The suspense builds as Tessie uncovers devastating secrets from the past en route to the shocking ending. Agent: Pam Ahearn, Ahearn Agency. (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series Brilliance Audio on compact disc.
Subjects Murder victims -- Fiction.
Serial murders -- Fiction.
Witnesses -- Fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Audiobooks.
Publisher Grand Haven, MI :Brilliance Audio,2015
Edition Unabridged.
Contributors Dykhouse, Whitney, narrator.
Dove, Eric G., narrator.
Peakes, Karen, narrator.
Brilliance Audio (Firm), publisher.
Participants/Performers Performed by Whitney Dykhouse, Eric G. Dove, and Karen Peakes.
Language English
Notes Unabridged.
Compact disc.
Description 8 audio discs (10 hr., 15 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 9781501237409
1501237403
Other Classic View