You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Little mercies

by Gudenkauf, Heather,

Format: Kindle Book 2014 2014
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  OverDrive Read
Availability: Available from OverDrive 3 of 3 copies
Available from OverDrive (3)
Summary
When her life unexpectedly collides with ten-year-old Jenny Briard, a homeless girl struggling to survive on her own, veteran social worker and mother Ellen Moore discovers that one small mistake can have life-altering consequences.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "As a social worker, Ellen Moore is regrettably familiar with the types of abuse adults can inflict on children. She's seen burns, bruises, and deeper, psychological scars. Ellen's casework has always bled into her home life as she plans routes to home visits while cooking breakfast or wakes up from a nightmare about one of her most violent cases. After Ellen accidentally leaves her one-year-old daughter in the family's minivan during the hottest day of the year, Ellen finds herself on the other side of the law. Slapped with the liabilities that accompany such a terrible accident, Ellen is forced to confront the very system she knows so well. An unlikely ally enters her life, and Ellen's mission to rebuild her relationships with her family, friends, and colleagues might be within her grasp. A story of motherhood, guilt, and redemption, Little Mercies examines our deepest fears and highest hopes. Gudenkauf's prose is searingly raw, as Ellen's confusion, guilt, and pain are laid bare. Thrilling and emotionally tender, this novel, with its driving pace, will appeal to fans of Lisa Scottoline and Jodi Picoult.--Turza, Stephanie Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Like her debut, The Weight of Silence, Gudenkauf's latest explores the vulnerability of children, this time through two linked stories narrated in alternating chapters. Social worker Ellen Moore juggles responsibility for three children, a husband, a widowed mother, and a caseload of endangered children. One hot and hectic July morning, she rushes out of her house in Cedar City, Iowa, to help a troubled family, barely hearing her husband's goodbyes. Only later does she realize that Adam, asking her to bring their infant daughter Avery to daycare, has put the child into their van. As Avery is rushed to the hospital with life-threatening heatstroke, Ellen faces a familiar investigation-this time as an accused perpetrator of child endangerment herself. Out on bail but prohibited from seeing Avery, she finds refuge at her mother's house. Meanwhile, 10-year-old Jenny Briard runs away from her home in Nebraska after her alcoholic father is arrested. When Jenny ends up in Cedar City, she is found and taken in by Ellen's lonely mother, Maudene. Helping her mother decide what to do with the girl, Ellen realizes that clues to the secrets of Jenny's past are within her own case files. With its compelling premise, Ellen's story is more gripping than Jenny's. But its hurried denouement feels false and sentimental, denying the more nuanced resolution her complex situation deserves. (July) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Women social workers Fiction
Life change events Fiction
Motherhood Fiction
Literature
Suspense
Fiction
Electronic books.
Publisher Toronto, Ontario :MIRA2014
2014
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Format: OverDrive Read
Requires Adobe Digital Editions
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9781460330166
1460330161
Other Classic View