Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

Black-eyed susans a novel of suspense

by Heaberlin, Julia.

Format: Kindle Book 2015 2015
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  OverDrive Read
Availability: Available from OverDrive 2 of 3 copies
Available from OverDrive (2)
 
Unavailable from OverDrive (1)
Summary
For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense.I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories. I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans. The lucky one. As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving "Black-Eyed Susan," the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa's testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row. Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans--a summertime bloom--just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications--that...
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "When Tessa was 17, she and three other girls were dumped in a field in Texas, presumed dead, by a serial killer on a spree. Tessa was the only one to survive and lived to testify against the man police picked up. The victims, including Tessa, were dubbed the Black-Eyed Susans. Now, it's 17 years later, and one month until the convicted killer faces execution. Tessa is still haunted by what happened that day and in that field, but also by the fact that black-eyed Susans have just been planted outside her home. Is the killer still out there? Has Tessa helped convict the wrong man? Tessa decides to work with the defense and testify again. The novel moves between the present and 1995, the year of the murders. Tessa's first-person narration is wonderful at showing her doubt and trauma in both times. One flaw is the novel's length: the suspense, very high at first, gets a bit drawn out over 350-plus pages. Still, this is an absorbing character study and a good choice for readers who want to want to really sink into a psychological thriller.--Fletcher, Connie Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Murder victims Fiction
Serial murders Fiction
Witnesses Fiction
Literature
Thriller
Suspense
Fiction
Electronic books.
Suspense fiction.
Publisher New York :Random House Publishing Group2015
2015
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Format: Kindle Book
Format: OverDrive Read
Requires Adobe Digital Editions or Amazon Kindle
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9780804178006
9780804178006
Other Classic View