We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

Caraval

by Garber, Stephanie,

Format: Print Book 2017
Availability: Available at 27 Libraries 28 of 35 copies
Available (28)
Location Collection Call #
Andrew Carnegie Free Library Young Adult YA FIC GARBER
Location  Andrew Carnegie Free Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC GARBER
 
 
Avalon Public Library Teen TEEN FIC GAR
Location  Avalon Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC GAR
 
 
Baldwin Borough Library Young Adult SERIES YA GAR
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  SERIES YA GAR
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Young Adult YA GARBER Stephanie
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA GARBER Stephanie
 
 
Brentwood Library Young Adult Fiction YOUNG ADULT Garber
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YOUNG ADULT Garber
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Young Adult TEEN FIC GAR
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC GAR
 
 
CLP - Brookline Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Garber
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Garber
 
 
CLP - Lawrenceville Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Garber
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Garber
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Garber
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Garber
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Garber
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Garber
 
 
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Young Adult Fiction YA GARBER
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA GARBER
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Young Adult Fiction YA Fic Garber CARAVAL BK.1
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA Fic Garber CARAVAL BK.1
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Young Adult YA FIC GAR
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC GAR
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg Young Adult YA FIC GAR
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC GAR
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library Adult Fiction GAR
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  GAR
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Teen Books Y GARBER STEPHANIE
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Books
 
Call Number  Y GARBER STEPHANIE
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA F GARBER Stephanie
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA F GARBER Stephanie
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Young Adult Fiction YA FIC GARBE
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA FIC GARBE
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Young Adult YA Fic Gar
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA Fic Gar
 
 
Scott Township Library Teen Fiction FIC GARBER CARA [YA]
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC GARBER CARA [YA]
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA GAR
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA GAR
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Young Adult Fiction YA GARBER
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA GARBER
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Young Adult YA FIC GAR
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC GAR
 
 
South Park Library Young Adult YA F GAR
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA F GAR
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Teen Fiction TEEN FANTASY GARBER
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FANTASY GARBER
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Young Adult Fiction YAF GARBER
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YAF GARBER
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Book Bus YAF GARBER
n
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Book Bus
 
Call Number  YAF GARBER
n
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library - Eastridge Young Adult FIC GAR YA
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library - Eastridge
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  FIC GAR YA
 
 
 
Unavailable (7)
Location Collection Status
Bethel Park Public Library Young Adult CHECKED OUT
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Display CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Display
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Hampton Community Library Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult STORAGE
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  STORAGE
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Robinson Library Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library Young Adult CHECKED OUT
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
 
On Order (1)
Location Collection Status
Carnegie Library of Homestead Teen Fiction IN PROCESSING
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary

The acclaimed New York Times bestseller! Welcome, welcome to Caraval -- Stephanie Garber's sweeping tale of the unbreakable bond between two sisters. It's the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world...

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett's father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett's long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval's mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season's Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.

New York Times bestseller
#1 IndieNext Pick
Publishers Weekly Flying Start
Entertainment Weekly Best 10 YA Books of 2017
Teen Vogue Best YA Book of the Year
Amazon Best Book of the Year
Barnes & Noble Best Book of the Year
BuzzFeed Best Book of the Year
" The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus . Grade: A-." -- Entertainment Weekly
"Impressive, original, wondrous. " -- USA Today
"Spellbinding." -- US Weekly
"Magnificent." -- Publishers Weekly , starred review
"I lost myself in this world." --Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes
"Beautifully written." --Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn
"Shimmers with magic." --Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner's Curse
"Darkly enchanting." --Kiersten White, author of And I Darken
"Decadent." --Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen
"Like stepping into a living dream." --Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon
"Destined to capture imaginations." -- Kirkus Reviews
" Ideal for fans of The Night Circus , Stardust , and The Hunger Games. " -- School Library Journal

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Scarlett and her sister, Tella, have grown up on stories of Caraval, a magical game run by a magician named Legend stories that helped them momentarily escape their grim existence with their abusive, controlling father. Now, weeks away from marrying a man she hasn't met, Scarlett receives an invitation to the enchanting palace, and Tella is determined to go, even if it means kidnapping her own sister to get there. When they arrive, they get separated, and driven by both the enticing candy-colored magic and her urge to find her sister, Scarlett plays Legend's seemingly innocuous game. Of course, all those flying creatures, enchanted ball gowns, and miraculous estates hide something sinister, and with the help of a handsome, rugged sailor, Scarlett uncovers secrets about both her own past and the true dangers of Caraval. While Scarlett is sometimes a frustratingly inept protagonist, Garber's rich, vivid scene setting and descriptions make for entertaining reading, and the conclusion hints at a sequel focused on Tella. A colorful, imaginative fantasy with some steamy romance for good measure.--Hunter, Sarah Copyright 2016 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Sisters Scarlett and Donatella "Tella" Dragna have always dreamed of going to Caraval-a once-a-year, multiday event that is part magical spectacle, part treasure hunt. With only a week before Scarlett's wedding to a man she's never met, Tella runs away to Caraval and arranges for Scarlett to be abducted by a sailor named Julian and secretly taken to Caraval too. But when Scarlett arrives, she discovers that Tella has become the prize of the game, and all the players are searching for her. In order to save both herself and her sister, Scarlett must figure out the ambiguous clues and confounding puzzles and journey through a magical world where secrets and plots abound, nothing is as it seems, and no one is to be trusted. Actor Soler's narration, by turns curious, afraid, frustrated, and exhilarated, immediately draws the listener into this world. In a story full of colorful characters, she gives each one a distinct voice that is faithful to their descriptions in the text. This magical fairy tale will thrill lovers of fantasy and mystery. Ages 13-up. A Flatiron hardcover. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Festivals -- Fiction.
Kidnapping -- Fiction.
Arranged marriage -- Fiction.
Sisters -- Fiction.
Treasure hunt (Game) -- Fiction.
Contests -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Fantasy fiction.
Science fiction.
Publisher New York :2017
Edition First U.S. edition.
Language English
Description 407 pages : illustrations, map ; 24 cm
ISBN 9781250095251
1250095255
Other Classic View