American street

by Zoboi, Ibi Aanu,

Format: Print Book 2017
Availability: Available at 30 Libraries 30 of 32 copies
Available (30)
Location Collection Call #
Baldwin Borough Library Young Adult YA ZOB
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA ZOB
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Young Adult YA ZOBOI Ibi
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA ZOBOI Ibi
 
 
Braddock Carnegie Library Teen Fiction YA F ZOB
Location  Braddock Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  YA F ZOB
 
 
Brentwood Library Young Adult Fiction YOUNG ADULT Zoboi
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YOUNG ADULT Zoboi
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Young Adult TEEN FIC ZOB
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC ZOB
 
 
CLP - Allegheny Regional Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
CLP - Beechview Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
CLP - Brookline Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
CLP - Carrick Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
CLP - Hill District Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - Hill District
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
CLP - Homewood Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - Homewood
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
CLP - Knoxville Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - Knoxville
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
CLP - Mt. Washington Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - Mt. Washington
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
CLP - Sheraden Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - Sheraden
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
CLP - South Side Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - South Side
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
CLP - West End Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - West End
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Zoboi
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Zoboi
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Young Adult YA FIC ZOB
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC ZOB
 
 
Dormont Public Library Young Adult YA ZOBO
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA ZOBO
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA ZOB
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA ZOB
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Young Adult Fiction YA FIC ZOBOI
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA FIC ZOBOI
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen YA FIC ZOBOI
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Call Number  YA FIC ZOBOI
 
 
Penn Hills Library Youth Y ZOB
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Youth
 
Call Number  Y ZOB
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Young Adult YA Fic Zob
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA Fic Zob
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Young Adult Fiction YA ZOMBOI
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA ZOMBOI
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Young Adult YA FIC ZOB
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC ZOB
 
 
South Park Library Young Adult YA F ZOB
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA F ZOB
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult Fiction ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
 
On Order (1)
Location Collection Status
F.O.R. Sto-Rox Library Young Adult IN PROCESSING
Location  F.O.R. Sto-Rox Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews and multiple awards!

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.

In this stunning debut novel, Pushcart-nominated author Ibi Zoboi draws on her own experience as a young Haitian immigrant, infusing this lyrical exploration of America with magical realism and vodou culture.

On the corner of American Street and Joy Road, Fabiola Toussaint thought she would finally find une belle vie--a good life.

But after they leave Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Fabiola's mother is detained by U.S. immigration, leaving Fabiola to navigate her loud American cousins, Chantal, Donna, and Princess; the grittiness of Detroit's west side; a new school; and a surprising romance, all on her own.

Just as she finds her footing in this strange new world, a dangerous proposition presents itself, and Fabiola soon realizes that freedom comes at a cost. Trapped at the crossroads of an impossible choice, will she pay the price for the American dream?

A New York Times Notable Book * Publishers Weekly Flying Start * Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year * ALA Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 (Top of the List winner) * School Library Journal Best Book of the Year * Kirkus Best Book of the Year * BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* Zoboi's stunning debut intertwines mysticism and love with grit and violence to tell the story of Fabiola Toussaint, a Haitian teen adjusting to her new life in Detroit. Fabiola's dream of a better life with her aunt and cousins in America snags when her mother is detained at the U.S. border. Forced to continue alone, she must also confront the reality that her new neighborhood is every bit as dangerous as the one she left behind in Port-au-Prince. Drugs, gangs, and violence pervade the status quo, but thanks to her cousins' tough reputations, Fabiola can find her footing. Zoboi, who emigrated to the U.S. from Haiti, brings a nuanced portrayal of that culture to the narrative. Evocative prose, where Fabiola calls on voodoo spirits, informs and enriches her character, while standing in counterpoint to her hard-as-nails cousins. Zoboi pulls no punches when describing the dangerous realities of the girls' lives, but tender moments are carefully tucked into the plot as well. This story is many things. It is a struggle for survival. It is the uncovering of one's bravest self. And, most significant, it is the coming together of a family. One or two scenarios strain credibility, but the characters' complexities ultimately smooth over any bumps. Fierce and beautiful.--Smith, Julia Copyright 2016 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Zoboi's powerful debut, set in current-day Detroit (but based on the author's experience as a Haitian immigrant in 1980s Bushwick, Brooklyn), unflinchingly tackles contemporary issues of immigration, assimilation, violence, and drug dealing. Although born in America, teenage Fabiola has grown up with her mother in Port au Prince, dreaming of a better life with her aunt and cousins in Detroit. Upon arriving in New York City, Fabiola's mother, lacking proper documents, is sent to a detention center while Fabiola must go on alone to Detroit. Shocked by the rough urban environment, her pugnacious cousins, her aunt's lethargy, and her cousin Donna's physically abusive, drug-dealing boyfriend, Dray, Fabiola turns to her Haitian spirits (lwas)-as well as a mysterious street man-for guidance, while embarking on a tentative romance with Dray's friend Kasim. When she strikes a deal with a police detective to set up Dray for arrest in exchange for her mother's release, it results in a dangerous situation with devastating results. Mixing gritty street life with the tenderness of first love, Haitian Vodou, and family bonds, the book is at once chilling, evocative, and reaffirming. Ages 14-up. Agent: Ammi-Joan Paquette, Erin Murphy Literary. (Feb.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Immigrants -- Fiction.
Haitians -- United States -- Fiction.
Mothers and daughters -- Fiction.
Cousins -- Fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Interpersonal relations -- Fiction.
Detroit (Mich.) -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Publisher New York, NY :2017
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 324 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780062473042
0062473042
Other Classic View