You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

One amazing elephant

by High, Linda Oatman,

Format: Print Book 2017
Availability: Available at 9 Libraries 9 of 9 copies
Available (9)
Location Collection Call #
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Fiction juv HIGH Linda
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  juv HIGH Linda
 
 
Brentwood Library Juvenile Fiction JUV High
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JUV High
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Juvenile Fiction J Fic High
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J Fic High
 
 
Hampton Community Library Juvenile Fiction J F HIGH
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J F HIGH
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction j HIGH Linda
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  j HIGH Linda
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction J FIC HIGH
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC HIGH
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Juvenile Fiction J HI
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J HI
 
 
Plum Community Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC HIG
Location  Plum Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC HIG
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Fiction j HIGH
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  j HIGH
 
 
Summary

A poignant middle grade animal story from talented author Linda Oatman High that will appeal to fans of Katherine Applegate's The One and Only Ivan. In this heartwarming novel, a girl and an elephant face the same devastating loss--and slowly realize that they share the same powerful love.

Twelve-year-old Lily Pruitt loves her grandparents, but she doesn't love the circus--and the circus is their life. She's perfectly happy to stay with her father, away from her neglectful mother and her grandfather's beloved elephant, Queenie Grace.

Then Grandpa Bill dies, and both Lily and Queenie Grace are devastated. When Lily travels to Florida for the funeral, she keeps her distance from the elephant. But the two are mourning the same man--and form a bond born of loss. And when Queenie Grace faces danger, Lily must come up with a plan to help save her friend.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Lily's grandfather Bill always tries to get her to be friends with his elephant, Queenie Grace, but Lily has never really been able to get over her fear of the huge animal. When Bill passes away, Lily travels from West Virginia to Florida for her grandfather's funeral, all the time wishing she could go back home. But when she encounters Queenie Grace, Lily finds someone who is just as heartbroken about her grandfather's death as she is, and she begins to see the kind, beautiful elephant her grandfather always wanted her to see. When Queenie Grace's freedom is threatened, Lily draws on memories of her grandfather and her new friendship with optimistic Henry Jack to find the strength to save her. Told in alternating chapters from the points of view of Lily and Queenie Grace, this warm story discusses life and death and what it means to be a good friend and do the right thing. The calm pace is perfect for exploring the sensitive topics in Lily's life, including abandonment, loss, fear, and friendship.--Paz, Selenia Copyright 2017 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "High's (Planet Pregnancy) well-balanced novel about love, forgiveness, and the tightrope walk of friendship and family is centered in Gibsonton, Fla., "the strangest town in the nation." Unlike the flamboyant circus side of 12-year-old Lily Rose Pruitt's family-including her dear Grandpa Bill, dubbed "the Giant" at more than seven feet tall, and her estranged mother, Trullia, a trapeze artist-cautious Lily bottles up her emotions and avoids risks: "Keep it inside. That's my motto." Lily lives with her father in West Virginia, but when her grandfather dies unexpectedly, she flies to Florida alone for the funeral. There, she confronts her fear of the Amazing Queenie Grace (her grandfather's elephant), forms friendships and makes a few enemies, tries to protect Queenie Grace from harm, and eventually comes to terms with her mother. The chapters alternate gracefully between Lily's and Queenie Grace's perspectives, and High effectively sketches how Lily gradually champions the elephant and recognizes larger issues around the ways performers abuse circus animals. Ages 8-12. Agent: Rosemary Stimola, Stimola Literary Studio. (Feb.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."

Additional Information
Subjects Grief in children -- Juvenile fiction.
Elephants -- Juvenile fiction.
Human-animal relationships -- Juvenile fiction.
Circus -- Juvenile fiction.
Grandfathers -- Death -- Juvenile fiction.
Grief -- Fiction.
Elephants -- Fiction.
Human-animal relationships -- Fiction.
Circus -- Fiction.
Publisher New York, NY :2017
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 264 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780062455833
0062455834
Other Classic View