There will be a brief outage on Sunday 1/24 between 11:00 PM and 12:00 AM for scheduled maintenance.

Seven days of us

by Hornak, Francesca,

Format: Print Book 2017
Availability: Available at 16 Libraries 16 of 21 copies
Available (16)
Location Collection Call #
Baldwin Borough Library Fiction HOR
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  HOR
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport Fiction F HOR
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F HOR
 
 
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Fiction FIC HORNAK
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC HORNAK
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Fiction FIC HOR
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC HOR
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library Adult Fiction HOR
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  HOR
 
 
Hampton Community Library McNaughton Books F HORNAK
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  McNaughton Books
 
Call Number  F HORNAK
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Fiction HORNAK FRANCESCA
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  HORNAK FRANCESCA
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Fiction HORNAK Francesca
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  HORNAK Francesca
 
 
Northland Public Library Fiction FIC HORNAK
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC HORNAK
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction FIC HORNAK
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC HORNAK
 
 
Scott Township Library Fiction FIC HORNAK SEVEN
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC HORNAK SEVEN
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Fiction F HOR
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F HOR
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction HORNAK
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  HORNAK
 
 
South Park Library Fiction F HORNAK
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F HORNAK
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Fiction Realistic F HORNAK
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction Realistic
 
Call Number  F HORNAK
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Fiction Collection FIC Hornak
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FIC Hornak
 
 
 
Unavailable (5)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Lawrenceville Fiction Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Dormont Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
A family can't escape their secrets when they're forced to spend a week in quarantine in this "sharply funny" ( People ) novel--an Indie Next and #1 Library Reads Pick!

"Witty and deeply heartfelt."--Emily Giffin

It's Christmas, and for the first time in years the entire Birch family will be under one roof. Even Emma and Andrew's elder daughter--who is usually off saving the world--will be joining them at Weyfield Hall, their aging country estate. But Olivia, a doctor, is only coming home because she has to. Having just returned from treating an epidemic abroad, she's been told she must stay in quarantine for a week...and so too should her family.

For the next seven days, the Birches are locked down, cut off from the rest of humanity--and even decent Wi-Fi--and forced into each other's orbits. Younger, unabashedly frivolous daughter Phoebe is fixated on her upcoming wedding, while Olivia deals with the culture shock of being immersed in first-world problems.

As Andrew sequesters himself in his study writing scathing restaurant reviews and remembering his glory days as a war correspondent, Emma hides a secret that will turn the whole family upside down.

In close proximity, not much can stay hidden for long, and as revelations and long-held tensions come to light, nothing is more shocking than the unexpected guest who's about to arrive...

theSkimm Reads Pick
New York Post Required Reading
One of Elite Daily's Books to Read This Fall
Liz & Lisa's Best Books of October
Brit + Co's Best of October Roundup
One of BookRiot's October Must-Reads
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* The Birch family hasn't spent Christmas together in years, but that's about to change. Olivia, the eldest Birch daughter, just returned from treating a life-threatening virus in Liberia and must be quarantined for a week. Emma, the family matriarch, will take any excuse to spend time with the globe-trotting doctor and decides to host the holidays in her family's country home, Weyfield Hall. Andrew, the patriarch, finds Weyfield Hall drafty and out-of-date, but an unexpected email makes the accommodations the least of his worries. Youngest daughter Phoebe, preoccupied with her wedding plans, frankly finds Olivia a bit sanctimonious about the whole saving-the-world thing. While the Birches are stuck in Weyfield Hall for a week, long-standing resentments are aired, secrets are unveiled, and the family realizes that this Christmas is sure to be unlike any other. Hornak's first novel is a farcical gem, perfect for fans of Matthew Norman and Emma Straub. Hornak lets each member of the dysfunctional Birch ensemble narrate in turn, so the reader gains a full picture of the family dynamics. Alternately tender and razor-sharp, Seven Days of Us will resonate with anyone who regresses the minute they step inside their childhood home.--Turza, Stephanie Copyright 2017 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Hornak's smart, delightfully funny, page-turning debut takes a posh, dysfunctional British family-two parents, two adult daughters, each with a secret-slaps on a week's worth of quarantine at Christmastime, and adds a dash of pathos as well as a large helping of humor. Do-gooder Olivia Birch is back from treating an Ebola-like epidemic in Liberia-hence the catalyst for the family quarantine-and doesn't want anyone to know about her affair with one of her coworkers. Andrew, her father and a former Beirut war correspondent, has just received an email from Jesse Robinson, a son in the U.S. he never knew he had from a one-night stand in Lebanon years ago. Andrew's wife, Emma, recently diagnosed with non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, is determined not to ruin Christmas by spilling the beans about her illness. Daughter Phoebe has just accepted a proposal from her swanky boyfriend, George, but she's not sure she truly loves him. Jesse travels to the U.K. to meet his biological father and the ensuing coincidences, mishaps, arguments, and opportunities for self-reflection upend the Birch family relationships. As the story unfolds from various viewpoints, Hornak imbues each character with a singularity that underscores her spot-on insight about human nature. (Oct.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."

Additional Information
Subjects Interpersonal relations -- Fiction.
Family secrets -- Fiction.
Families -- Fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Humorous fiction.
Publisher New York :2017
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 358 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN 9780451488756
045148875X
Other Classic View