Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

The end of the world running club

by Walker, Adrian J. (Suspense fiction writer),

Format: Print Book 2017
Availability: Available at 12 Libraries 19 of 24 copies
Available (19)
Location Collection Call #
Baldwin Borough Library Fiction WAL
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  WAL
 
 
Brentwood Library Fiction FICTION Walker
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Walker
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Fiction
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number 
 
 
CLP - Beechview Fiction FICTION Walker
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Walker
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks FICTION Walker
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
 
Call Number  FICTION Walker
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Science Fiction/Fantasy FIC WAL sci/fan
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Science Fiction/Fantasy
 
Call Number  FIC WAL sci/fan
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Fiction WALKER ADRIAN
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  WALKER ADRIAN
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Fiction WALKER Adrian
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  WALKER Adrian
 
 
Northland Public Library Science Fiction & Fantasy FIC WALKER SF
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Science Fiction & Fantasy
 
Call Number  FIC WALKER SF
 
 
Northland Public Library Paperbacks P/BD WALKER
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Paperbacks
 
Call Number  P/BD WALKER
 
 
Northland Public Library Paperbacks P/BD WALKER
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Paperbacks
 
Call Number  P/BD WALKER
 
 
Northland Public Library Paperbacks P/BD WALKER
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Paperbacks
 
Call Number  P/BD WALKER
 
 
Northland Public Library Paperbacks P/BD WALKER
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Paperbacks
 
Call Number  P/BD WALKER
 
 
Northland Public Library Paperbacks P/BD WALKER
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Paperbacks
 
Call Number  P/BD WALKER
 
 
Northland Public Library Paperbacks P/BD WALKER
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Paperbacks
 
Call Number  P/BD WALKER
 
 
Northland Public Library Paperbacks P/BD WALKER
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Paperbacks
 
Call Number  P/BD WALKER
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Fiction F WAL
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F WAL
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction WALKER pbk
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  WALKER pbk
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Fiction Collection FIC Walker
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FIC Walker
 
 
 
Unavailable (5)
Location Collection Status
CLP - East Liberty Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Homewood Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Homewood
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Fiction Collection MISSING
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  MISSING
 
 
Northland Public Library Paperbacks CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Paperbacks
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

The #1 International Bestseller!
A Science Fiction & Fantasy Book to Keep on Your Radar by io9 and Gizmodo

A powerful post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of The Martian. When the sky begins to fall, one man finds himself separated from his family, his best hope is to run--or risk losing what he loves forever.

When the world ends and you find yourself stranded on the wrong side of the country, every second counts. No one knows this more than Edgar Hill: over five hundred miles of devastated wasteland stretch between him and his family. To get back to them, he must push himself to the very limit--or risk losing them forever.

His best option is to run. But what if his best isn't good enough? End of the World Running Clubis an otherworldly yet extremelyhuman story of hope, love, and the endurance of both body and spirit.

Praise for The End of the World Running Club:
"Harrowing and heartrending, this is a novel that is almost impossible to put down." --Library Journal, STARRED REVIEW

"Walker's ability to imagine a post-apocalyptic world in crisp detail is on full display in the early pages of The End of World Running Club." -- Maximum Shelf

"...a beautifully written postapocalyptic tale of a flawed man's struggle for survival and redemption." -- Booklist

"A fresh and frighteningly real take on what "the end" might be...quite an exciting and nerve-wracking 'run', with characters

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Edgar Hill is not the sort to survive a major catastrophe. He is an overweight (Who has time to exercise?), indifferent husband and father of two small children, Alice and baby Arthur. Although he sincerely loves his family, Ed would rather spend time anywhere else but with them. He does ensure their survival by hurling his wife, Beth, and the kids into the cellar as destruction falls from the sky, only discovering later that they are trapped. After being rescued and joining a group of other survivors, Ed nonetheless continues his self-indulgence and is off on a scouting expedition when helicopters unexpectedly evacuate almost everyone, including his family, hundreds of miles south. With his wife and children scheduled to be shipped overseas, time is short for Ed to reach them. Lacking transportation and with questionable roads in-between, he is determined to try anything to be reunited, even the impossible running 500 miles cross-country. Walker's second novel after From the Storm (2012) is a beautifully written postapocalyptic tale of a flawed man's struggle for survival and redemption.--Lockley, Lucy Copyright 2017 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Walker's ambitious debut novel offers a gripping portrayal of a postapocalyptic world. This type of end-of-the-world story has been told before, but rarely with the intensity and believability that Walker creates here. Edgar Hill, a lazy, unhappy man, lives with his family in Edinburgh, Scotland, when an asteroid barrage strikes Earth, destroying modern civilization. Unprepared physically or mentally for the widespread death and destruction that follows, Edgar must finally face his responsibilities as a husband and father, and he knows he won't measure up. Clustered with a few surviving civilians and soldiers, Edgar is separated from his family when they are evacuated by a rescue helicopter, leaving Edgar and six others behind. Without hope of rescue, the six men and one woman flee to the south, across a landscape of chaos and despair. Edgar and the others must run to get to Cornwall, 450 miles away, chasing a rumor of sanctuary and seaborne evacuation, pursued by killers and gangs of murderous survivors driven mad by desperation and hopeless resignation. Edgar has never run in his life, but is determined to reunite with his family, and so sets a remarkable example of endurance and self-sacrifice for the others. This is a wholly convincing and exciting novel. (Sept.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Long-distance runners -- Fiction.
Running -- Fiction.
Survival -- Fiction.
End of the world -- Fiction.
Science fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Apocalyptic fiction.
Publisher Naperville, Illinois :2017
Language English
Notes "Originally self-published in 2014 in the United Kingdom by Adrian J. Walker. This edition issued based on the paperback edition published in 2016 in the United Kingdom by Del Ray, an imprint of Ebury Publishing, part of the Penguin Random House group of companies"--Title page verso.
Includes: Reading group guide and A conversation with the author.
Description 456 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN 9781492656029
149265602X
Other Classic View