Akata witch

by Okorafor, Nnedi,

Format: Print Book 2017
Availability: Available at 17 Libraries 17 of 19 copies
Available (17)
Location Collection Call #
Braddock Carnegie Library Teen Fiction YA F OKO
Location  Braddock Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  YA F OKO
 
 
CLP - Allegheny Regional Teen Fiction TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
 
 
CLP - Beechview Teen Fiction TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
 
 
CLP - Brookline Teen Fiction TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
 
 
CLP - Carrick Teen Fiction TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
 
 
CLP - Downtown Second Floor - Teen Fiction TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
Location  CLP - Downtown
 
Collection  Second Floor - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Teen Fiction TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
 
 
CLP - Hazelwood Teen Fiction TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
Location  CLP - Hazelwood
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
 
 
CLP - Knoxville Teen Fiction TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
Location  CLP - Knoxville
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
 
 
CLP - South Side Teen Fiction TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
Location  CLP - South Side
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Teen Fiction TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
 
 
CLP - West End Teen Fiction TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
Location  CLP - West End
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Teen Fiction TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN PAPERBACK Okorafor
 
 
Millvale Community Library Teen Fiction YAF OKO.1
Location  Millvale Community Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  YAF OKO.1
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Young Adult Fiction YA FIC OKORA
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA FIC OKORA
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Young Adult YA FIC OKO
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC OKO
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Homewood Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Homewood
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Sheraden Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Sheraden
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
"Nnedi Okorafor writes glorious futures and fabulous fantasies. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to new things." -- Neil Gaiman, author of The Graveyard Book and American Gods

Affectionately dubbed "the Nigerian Harry Potter," Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one's place in the world. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone !

Sunny Nwazue lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her features are West African, but she's albino. She's a terrific athlete, but can't go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing--she is a "free agent" with latent magical power. And she has a lot of catching up to do.
Soon she's part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But as she's finding her footing, Sunny and her friends are asked by the magical authorities to help track down a career criminal who knows magic, too. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs?
World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor blends magic and adventure to create a lush world. Her writing has been called "stunning" by The New York Times and her fans include Neil Gaiman, Rick Riordan, John Green, Ursula K. Le Guin, and many more!

Raves for Nnedi Okorafor's writing:

"There's more imagination on a page of Nnedi Okorafor's work than in whole volumes of ordinary fantasy epics." --Ursula K. Le Guin, award-winning author of A Wizard of Earthsea

"The most imaginative, gripping, enchanting fantasy novels I have ever read!" --Laurie Halse Anderson, National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author of Speak

"I always loved science fiction, but I didn't feel I was part of it--until I read first Octavia Butler, and now Nnedi Okorafor." --Whoopi Goldberg

"Highly original stuff, episode after amazing episode, full of color, life, and death. Nnedi Okorafor's work is wonderful!" --Diana Wynne Jones, award-winning author of The Chronicles of Chrestomanci

"Jam-packed with mythological wonders." --Rick Riordan, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series

"Okorafor's imagination is stunning." -- The New York Times Book Review

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Flame has always been soothing to 12-year-old Sunny until she sees a vision of the end of the world in candlelight. Raging fires, boiling oceans and ruptured land, dead and dying people. It was horrible. And it was coming. Born in the U.S. to Nigerian parents, Sunny and her family have returned to Nigeria, where she is taunted for being both foreign-born and albino. Then Sunny learns that her classmates' jeers that she i. half-ghost, half-huma. hold truth: she is a Free Agent, descended from both Leopard People, who have magical abilities, and Lambs, who are equivalent to J. K. Rowling's dull Muggles. Along with three other Leopard kids, Sunny has been chosen to help stop a serial killer whose dark juju depends on sacrificing children and links to her apocalyptic vision. The story's pacing isn't consistently smooth, but the world Okorafor creates is spellbinding, from its fantastical plants and animals, including sculpture-buildin. wasp artist. and forceful lightning bugs ( the ones with attitude have the best light ), to its values, which are refreshing inversions of Lamb beliefs: money is earne. by gaining knowledge and wisdom. for example. Harry Potter fans will find plenty of satisfying parallels here, as will readers who know Okorafor's previous novels, especially The Shadow Speaker (2007), for which Akata Witch serves as a prequel of sorts. Okorafor's high-spirited characters, sly humor, archetypal themes, and inventive reworking of coming-of-age journeys will leave readers eager for this series starter's planned sequels. For more about Okorafor and her imagined worlds, see the accompanyin. Story behind the Stor. feature.--Engberg, Gillia. Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Okorafor (The Shadow Speaker) returns with another successful tale of African magic. Although 12-year-old Sunny is Nigerian, she was born in America, and her Nigerian classmates see her as an outsider. Worse, she's an albino, an obvious target for bullies and suspected of being a ghost or a witch. Things change, however, when she has a vision of impending nuclear war. Then her classmate Orlu and his friend Chichi turn out to be Leopard People-witches-and insist that she is, too. Soon Sunny discovers her spirit face ("It was her, but it felt as if it had its own separate identity, too. Her spirit face was the sun, all shiny gold and glowing with pointy rays"). Eventually, the three and an American boy named Sasha visit the dangerous, magical city of Leopard Knocks and learn from their mentors in witchcraft that they must destroy Black Hat Otokoto, a monstrous serial killer and powerful witch. Although a bit slow getting started, this tale is filled with marvels and is sure to appeal to teens whose interest in fantasy goes beyond dwarves and fairies. Ages 12-up. (Apr.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Magic -- Juvenile fiction.
Albinos and albinism -- Juvenile fiction.
Serial murderers -- Juvenile fiction.
Supernatural -- Fiction.
Magic -- Fiction.
Albinos and albinism -- Fiction.
Serial murderers -- Fiction.
Nigeria -- Juvenile fiction.
Nigeria -- Fiction.
Paranormal fiction.
Publisher New York, New York :2017
Language English
Notes Includes a preview of: Akata warrior.
Description 349 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN 9780142420911
0142420913
9780606401012
0606401016
Other Classic View