Unraveling Oliver

by Nugent, Liz,

Format: Large Print 2017
Availability: Unavailable 0 copies
Summary
In this "compelling, clever, and dark" ( Heat magazine) thriller, a man's shocking act of savagery stuns a local community--and the revelations that follow will keep you gripped until the very last page. This work of psychological suspense, a #1 bestseller in Ireland, is perfect for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Ruth Ware.

"I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her."

So begins Liz Nugent's astonishing debut novel--a chilling, elegantly crafted, and psychologically astute exploration of the nature of evil.

Oliver Ryan, handsome, charismatic, and successful, has long been married to his devoted wife, Alice. Together they write and illustrate award-winning children's books; their life together one of enviable privilege and ease--until, one evening after a delightful dinner, Oliver delivers a blow to Alice that renders her unconscious, and subsequently beats her into a coma.

In the aftermath of such an unthinkable event, as Alice hovers between life and death, the couple's friends, neighbors, and acquaintances try to understand what could have driven Oliver to commit such a horrific act. As his story unfolds, layers are peeled away to reveal a life of shame, envy, deception, and masterful manipulation.

With its alternating points of view and deft prose, Unraveling Oliver is "a page-turning, one-sitting read from a brand new master of psychological suspense" ( Sunday Independent ) that details how an ordinary man can transform into a sociopath.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Secrecy and sadness permeate this rich debut novel by Irish author Nugent, an award-winning radio and TV writer. Named Crime Fiction Book of the Year at the Irish Book Awards, the tale centers on the mysterious, lonely Oliver, an Irish boy and then man who is scarred by his father's rejection and visits that same rejection on all around him. Chapters that are narrated in turns by Oliver, his wife, friends who accompanied Oliver on a fateful working vacation in France when he was a teen, and a member of the French family that became his fixation. This is a successful device, as it allows a puzzle involving the trip to come slowly into view as readers are skillfully given glimpses of events and of the resulting devastation that Oliver so nonchalantly metes out. Catholic-clergy dysfunction and its effects on families feature strongly here, making the thriller a satisfying read-alike for John Boyne's A History of Loneliness (2015).--Verma, Henrietta Copyright 2017 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Series Thorndike Press large print thriller
Subjects Marital violence -- Fiction.
Wife abuse -- Fiction.
Large type books.
FICTION / Psychological.
FICTION / Suspense.
FICTION / Family Life.
Marital violence.
Wife abuse.
Psychological fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Suspense fiction.
Fiction.
Publisher Waterville, Maine :2017
Edition Large print edition.
Language English
Description 329 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
ISBN 9781432842901
1432842900
Other Classic View