The wife

by Burke, Alafair,

Format: Book on CD [2018]
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 7 copies
3 people on waitlist
Unavailable (7)
Location Collection Status
Bridgeville Public Library Audiovisual CHECKED OUT
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Audiovisual
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Robinson Library Audio Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Audio Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library AV - New Audiobooks ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  AV - New Audiobooks
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Springdale Free Public Library Audio Visual IN TRANSIT
Location  Springdale Free Public Library
 
Collection  Audio Visual
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Audiobooks ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Audiobooks
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Whitehall Public Library AudioBook Collection MISSING
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  AudioBook Collection
 
Status  MISSING
 
 
Summary
From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10-in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herselfWhen Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother's home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look at the man she married. And when she is asked to defend Jason in court, she realizes that her loyalty to her husband could unearth old secrets.This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke's Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Angela Powell's well-ordered, comfortable life with husband Jason and teenage son Spencer is coming apart. It was a life remade, thanks to NYU economics professor Jason, after then-teenager Angela was held captive for three years before her kidnapper was killed, and she escaped with a baby boy. Now, as she continues to keep her past hidden, Jason has become a media star, with a best-selling book and his own consulting firm, in addition to his tenured NYU gig. And then the trouble starts. First an intern at Jason's firm makes an accusation, followed by a more serious charge from Kerry Lynch, with whom Jason has been working as well as having an affair. High-powered defense attorney Olivia Randall (introduced in The Ex, 2016) defends Jason, while his case alternately looks better and worse as his secrets are revealed. But the wife has secrets, too, and tenacious NYPD detective Corrine Duncan keeps digging into them. With plot twists and turns to the very end, this is a tantalizing follow-up to The Ex that will keep pages turning.--Leber, Michele Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Angela Powell, the unreliable narrator of this plot-propelled roller-coaster of a domestic thriller from Edgar-finalist Burke (The Ex), is the wife of a respected NYU economics professor and rising media star and the mother of a 13-year-old. She leads a privileged, if somewhat boring life-which is precisely what she craves after miraculously surviving, as a teen, the kind of ordeal that spawns true crime tomes. But then intern Rachel Sutton accuses her husband, Jason, of sexual harassment, and a second woman comes forward to claim rape and then suddenly vanishes. NYPD Det. Corrine Duncan doggedly investigates the initial allegations and later the disappearance of consultant Kerry Lynch, who Jason claims was his mistress. In the process, Corinne uncovers Angela's painstakingly buried past, and it starts to look as though almost no one, maybe least of all Angela, is who he or she seems. As riveting as Burke's increasingly jaw-dropping twists prove, they eventually undermine the believability of her principals. Agent: Philip Spitzer, Philip Spitzer Literary Agency. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Husband and wife -- Fiction.
Audiobooks.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Psychological fiction.
Suspense fiction.
Publisher [New York] :[2018]
Edition Unabridged.
Contributors Sands, Xe, narrator.
Participants/Performers Performed by Xe Sands.
Language English
Notes Compact discs.
Description 7 audio discs (8 hr., 15 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 9781538480335
1538480336
9781538480342
1538480344
Other Classic View