Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

The accordionist

by Vargas, Fred,

Format: Print Book 2017
Availability: On Order 2 copies
On Order (2)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Main Library ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Main Library
Status  ON ORDER
CLP - Main Library ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Main Library
Status  ON ORDER
Louis Kehlweiler of the Three Evangelists trilogy returns, along with his beloved pet toad, Bufo. Vauquer Clement, a young accordionist in his thirties has disappeared, believed by police forces from Nevers to Paris to have killed two women, both shockingly violent murders. But Kehlweiler is not so sure he's guilty. With his team of experts, he must go back and look at all the facts, and see if he can clear Clement's name before it's too late.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "A simpleminded man is set up for the murders of two women in Paris, but the serial killer fails to reckon with the survival instincts of title character Clement Vauquer and the support network he accrues. Identified as a suspect, Clement seeks out ex-prostitute Marthe Gardel, who took him in as a child and taught him to read. Marthe contacts her old friend Louis Kehlweiler, formerly with the ministry of the interior, whose investigative instincts are reignited by the recent murders, and he sequesters Clement in a home shared by three historians and a disgraced ex-cop. As Kehlweiler calls on his old cop contacts and follows leads, one of the historians links the two murders to a poem, a connection initially ridiculed. Justice is served with humor in this final entry in the Three Evangelists trilogy, featuring an unofficial private eye who carries a pet toad named Bufo in his pocket and a heroic medievalist who takes up housecleaning and ironing, becoming genuinely interested in comparing household products. Vargas, author of the popular Commissaire Adamsberg series, combines brutal crime with an appealingly light narrative touch.--Leber, Michele Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Vargas's stunning conclusion to her Three Evangelists trilogy (after Dog Will Have His Day) rewards the careful reader. In the summer of 1997, Paris is preoccupied with a killer who has attacked two seemingly random female victims, strangling them before stabbing them multiple times. The police are zeroing in on a street musician, the accordionist of the title, who admits to spying on the dead women for several days before the murders. The suspect, Clément Vauquer, although mentally impaired, is aware of his jeopardy, and seeks out his one friend in the world, Marthe Gardel, an elderly woman who took him under her wing during his childhood. Marthe, in turn, reaches out to Louis Kehlweiler, a retired Ministry of the Interior investigator, who's eager for a distraction from his paid work as a translator. Aided by three eccentric historians, Louis undertakes to clear Clément, despite the circumstantial evidence against him. Vargas combines humor, oddball characters, and a classic puzzle mystery for another winner. (Apr.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series Vargas, Fred. Three evangelists ; 3.
#1 - The Three Evangelists
#2 - Dog will have his day
#3 - The Accordionist
Subjects Ex-police officers -- Fiction.
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction.
Serial murder investigation -- Fiction.
Ex-police officers.
Murder -- Investigation.
Serial murder investigation.
Paris (France) -- Fiction.
France -- Paris.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Publisher London, England :2017
Other Titles Sans feu ni lieu.
Contributors Reynolds, Sian, translator.
Language English
Translated from the French.
Notes Originally published in French: [Paris], France : Editions Viviane Hamy, 1997.
Description 249 pages ; 25 cm.
ISBN 9781846559983
Other Classic View