The miscalculations of Lightning Girl

by McAnulty, Stacy,

Format: Print Book 2018
Availability: Available at 17 Libraries 17 of 32 copies
Available (17)
Location Collection Call #
Andrew Bayne Memorial Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC MCAN
Location  Andrew Bayne Memorial Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC MCAN
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Fiction juv McANULTY Stacy
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  juv McANULTY Stacy
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Public Library Children's Fiction JUV FIC MCA
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Public Library Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  JUV FIC MCA
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Children Fiction J McA
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Children Fiction
 
Call Number  J McA
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Children's Fiction Collection j FICTION McAnulty
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  j FICTION McAnulty
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Young Adult YA FIC MCA
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC MCA
 
 
Crafton Public Library Middle Grades Section MG F MCANULTY 2018 CRAFTON 4/18
Location  Crafton Public Library
 
Collection  Middle Grades Section
 
Call Number  MG F MCANULTY 2018 CRAFTON 4/18
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Children's JF MCA
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Children's
 
Call Number  JF MCA
 
 
Jefferson Hills Public Library Juv Fiction J FIC MCA
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Juv Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC MCA
 
 
Millvale Community Library Juvenile Fiction JFIC MCA
Location  Millvale Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JFIC MCA
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction J MCANULTY
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J MCANULTY
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction JF MCANULTY Stacy
Returned today
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JF MCANULTY Stacy
Returned today
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction j MCANULTY Stacy
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  j MCANULTY Stacy
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction J FIC MCANULTY
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC MCANULTY
 
 
Scott Township Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC MCANUL
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC MCANUL
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC MCA
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC MCA
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library Juvenile Fiction J MCA REALISTIC FICTION
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J MCA REALISTIC FICTION
 
 
 
Unavailable (15)
Location Collection Status
Brentwood Library Juvenile Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Allegheny Regional Children's Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Lawrenceville Children's Fiction Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Children's Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction STORAGE
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  STORAGE
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Juvenile CHECKED OUT
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Penn Hills Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Robinson Library Middle Grade Section CHECKED OUT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Middle Grade Section
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Juvenile Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Middle Grade CHECKED OUT
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Middle Grade
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
Middle school is the one problem Lucy Callahan can't solve in this middle-grade novel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish , Rain Reign , and Counting by 7s.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass 1 more test--middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists- Go to middle school for 1 year. Make 1 friend. Join 1 activity. And read 1 book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in 7th grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

"An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!" --Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "When Lucy, 12, was struck by lightning, she gained extraordinary math skills, and her grandmother, Nana, who raised Lucy after her parents' death, has homeschooled her ever since. Lucy is content to fill her hours with online college classes and chats on math forums where no one knows her real age, but Nana decides that Lucy needs to experience a world outside of a computer screen. If Lucy goes to middle school for one year, Nana promises, she'll be allowed to apply to college, and reluctantly, Lucy agrees. At first, her germophobia and mild obsessive behavior make a difficult situation more difficult, but eventually, she acquires two friends, finds useful work to do at an animal shelter, and has her life changed by a little dog she calls Pi. McAnulty captures the drama and trauma of middle school with well-rounded and believable characters and a convincing and appealing story. The math focus (for instance, McAnulty nicely weaves information about pi and Fibonacci numbers) adds a useful STEM component as well.--Scanlon, Donna Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "When 12-year-old Lucy was struck by lightning at age eight, her brain was damaged, resulting in her acquired savant syndrome. She becomes a mathematical genius and develops obsessive-compulsive disorder; she's been homeschooled ever since. She feels safe at home with her uncle and grandmother, but Nana wants Lucy to become better integrated with her peers and enrolls her in seventh grade. Lucy hides her math abilities to blend in, and she's bullied by popular girl Maddie, but when she and another student, Windy, team up with classmate Levi for a community service project, a true friendship grows. The three help out at the Pet Hut, a no-kill shelter where Lucy, who has never liked animals, bonds with Cutie Pi. After Cutie Pi is diagnosed with cancer-which means that she will likely be transferred to a state shelter and put down-and Windy betrays Lucy by revealing a secret, Lucy must learn how to solve problems of the heart. McAnulty realistically portrays Lucy's OCD, and her struggles in middle school also ring true. Every character is fully formed, and Lucy's journey is beautifully authentic in this debut brimming with warmth, wisdom, and math. Ages 8-12. Agent: Lori Kilkelly, Rodeen Literary Management. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Savants (Savant syndrome) -- Juvenile fiction.
Obsessive-compulsive disorder -- Juvenile fiction.
Middle schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Interpersonal relations -- Juvenile fiction.
Obsessive-compulsive disorder -- Fiction.
Middle schools -- Fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Interpersonal relations -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :2018
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 293 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781524767570
1524767573
9781524767587
1524767581
9781524767600
1524767603
Other Classic View