You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for 72 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Her pretty face

by Harding, Robyn,

Format: Print Book 2018
Availability: Available at 15 Libraries 15 of 17 copies
Available (15)
Location Collection Call #
ACLA Mobile Library Services Fiction Collection F HARD
Location  ACLA Mobile Library Services
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  F HARD
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport Fiction F HAR
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F HAR
 
 
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Fiction FIC HARDING
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC HARDING
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg Fiction FIC HAR
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC HAR
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library Adult Fiction HAR
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  HAR
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Adult Fiction F HAR
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  F HAR
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Fiction HARDING ROBYN
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  HARDING ROBYN
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Fiction F HARDING Robyn
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F HARDING Robyn
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Fiction HARDING Robyn
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  HARDING Robyn
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Fiction FIC HARDI
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC HARDI
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction FIC HARDING
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC HARDING
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Fiction FIC HAR
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC HAR
 
 
South Park Library Fiction F HARDING
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F HARDING
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Fiction Thriller F HARDING
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction Thriller
 
Call Number  F HARDING
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Fiction Collection FIC Harding
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FIC Harding
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Bridgeville Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
The author of the bestselling novel The Party --lauded as "tense and riveting" by New York Times bestselling author Megan Miranda -- returns with a chilling new domestic drama about two women whose deep friendship is threatened by dark, long-buried secrets.

Frances Metcalfe is struggling to stay afloat.

A stay-at-home mom whose troubled son is her full-time job, she thought that the day he got accepted into the elite Forrester Academy would be the day she started living her life. Overweight, insecure, and lonely, she is desperate to fit into Forrester's world. But after a disturbing incident at the school leads the other children and their families to ostracize the Metcalfes, she feels more alone than ever before.

Until she meets Kate Randolph.

Kate is everything Frances is not: beautiful, wealthy, powerful, and confident. And for some reason, she's not interested in being friends with any of the other Forrester moms--only Frances. As the two bond over their disdain of the Forrester snobs and the fierce love they have for their sons, a startling secret threatens to tear them apart.

Because one of these women is not who she seems. Her real name is Amber Kunik. And she's a murderer.

In her masterful follow-up to The Party , Robyn Harding spins a web of lies, deceit, and betrayal, asking the question: Can people ever change? And even if they can, is it possible to forgive the past?
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Frances Metcalfe doesn't fit in at Seattle's elite Forrester Academy. Her overly large son, Marcus, is shunned for his bad behavior, and the other mothers are more interested in flirting with her hot husband, Jason. Fortunately, there's beautiful Kate Randolph, who eschews the snobbery of the PTA for Frances' refreshing awkwardness. Kate's son, Charles, is Marcus' only friend, so the two mothers are drawn even closer together. Both women have a secret, but only one of them is the notorious Amber Kunik, who served time for her part in a brutal murder 20 years ago. Meanwhile, Kate's 14-year-old daughter, Daisy, is keenly aware that her mother is no longer interested in her, so she doesn't see why she shouldn't befriend the man in the muscle car who seems to be everywhere she is. The reader never knows quite whom to trust as the past and present unfold. The characterization of the two overweight characters as pathetic outcasts is problematic. Still, the tony setting and the slowly revealed secrets make this a good read-alike for Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies (2014).--Maguire, Susan Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Frances Metcalfe, the mousy protagonist of this diverting domestic suspense novel from Harding (The Party), has been shunned by the other Forrester Academy parents since her troubled 11-year-old son, Marcus, peed in a mean girl's water bottle, so she can't believe her luck when cool, confident Kate Randolph invites her out for coffee. The stay-at-home moms become fast friends, bonding over their mutual contempt for the snobs in their Seattle, Wash., suburb. But as it turns out, that's not all they have in common: both women are also hiding terrible secrets. Harding's tale unfolds from the perspectives of Frances and Daisy, Kate's 14-year-old daughter, who's being stalked by a mysterious stranger. Flashbacks to the 1997 trial of suspected murderer Amber Kunik keep readers guessing at the involved parties' modern-day identities and the crime's connection to the present. Regrettably, Harding's conclusion is a murky anticlimax that offers more questions than answers, but three-dimensional characters, well-timed plot twists, and a sea of convincing red herrings make for an otherwise entertaining story. Agent: Joseph Veltre, Gersh Agency. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Family secrets -- Fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Psychological fiction.
Publisher New York :2018
Edition First Scout Press hardcover edition.
Language English
Description 340 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN 9781501174247
150117424X
Other Classic View