You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Hello, universe

by Kelly, Erin Entrada,

Format: Book on MP3 Disc 2018
Availability: Available at 3 Libraries 3 of 3 copies
Available (3)
Location Collection Call #
Green Tree Public Library Children's PlayAway Devices J MP3 KEL
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Children's PlayAway Devices
 
Call Number  J MP3 KEL
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Audio JMP3 KELLY Erin Entrada UNABRIDGED
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Audio
 
Call Number  JMP3 KELLY Erin Entrada UNABRIDGED
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Juvenile Audiovisual MP3 JF KEL
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Audiovisual
 
Call Number  MP3 JF KEL
 
 
Summary
Winner of the Newbery Medal"A charming, intriguingly plotted novel." -Washington PostAcclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships.Told from four intertwining points of view-two boys and two girls-the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). "Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits."-BooklistIn one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball.They aren't friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia."Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone-humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending."-School Library Journal
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* Four middle-schoolers' fates intertwine one summer in Kelly's (The Land of Forgotten Girls, 2016) touching tale of friendship. Scrawny, taciturn Virgil Salinas can generally be found caring for his guinea pig and avoiding neighborhood bully Chet Bullens. The only people he feels comfortable around are his lola (his Filipino grandmother) and his Japanese American friend Kaori, who fancies herself a psychic. Kaori's quirky self-confidence is a foil to Virgil's insecurities, and when he comes to her for help befriending a girl in his class, Valencia Somerset, she can't wait to consult her star chart. For her own part, Valencia struggles with nightmares after being rejected by her best friend, and the fact that she's deaf hasn't made finding new friends easy. When she spots Kaori's business card on a notice board, she makes an appointment to discuss her troubling dreams. That very day, Virgil goes missing, and Valencia joins Kaori's search for the boy. Chapters alternate between the four kids' perspectives, infusing the story with their unique interests, backgrounds, beliefs, and doubts. Lola's hilariously grim Filipino folk stories weave in and out of Virgil's mind, ultimately giving him the courage to stand up for himself; and rather than holding her back, Valencia's deafness heightens her perceptiveness. Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits.--Smith, Julia Copyright 2016 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Kelly (The Land of Forgotten Girls) offers up a charming novel about a serendipitous friendship that forms among a trio of sixth graders after a bully's heartless act brings them together. Virgil Salinas, an immensely shy 11-year-old, lives in the shadow of his boisterous family, struggles in school, and wants little more than to hang out with his guinea pig, Gulliver, and friend, Kaori Tanaka, a self-proclaimed psychic. Virgil's classmate Valencia, who is ostracized at school because of her near deafness, longs for a friend for the summer and hopes that Kaori's psychic powers might help her vanquish her recurring nightmares. Instead, Kaori enlists Valencia's help to rescue Virgil after he fails to show up for a scheduled meeting. Kelly rotates among the viewpoints of Kaori, Virgil, Valencia, and neighborhood bully Chet, who contribute their own distinct stories, voices, and challenges. Infused with humor and hope, this book deftly conveys messages of resilience and self-acceptance through simple acts of everyday courage. Readers will be left inspired to tackle life's fears head-on. Ages 8-12. Agent: Sara Crowe, Pippin Properties. (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Friendship -- Juvenile fiction.
Missing children -- Juvenile fiction.
Bullying -- Juvenile fiction.
Hearing impaired -- Juvenile fiction.
Psychic ability -- Juvenile fiction.
Sisters -- Juvenile fiction.
Friendship -- Fiction.
Missing children -- Fiction.
Bullying -- Fiction.
Hearing impaired -- Fiction.
Psychic ability -- Fiction.
Sisters -- Fiction.
Children's audiobooks.
Playaway (Preloaded audio player)
Novels.
Publisher Solon, Ohio :2018
Edition Unabridged.
Contributors Abellera, Amielynn, narrator.
Ocampo, Ramon de, narrator.
HarperCollins (Firm), publisher.
Harper Audio (Firm), publisher.
Playaway Digital Audio, publisher.
Findaway World, LLC, publisher.
Participants/Performers Performed by Amielynn Abellera and Ramon de Ocampo.
Language English
Notes Title from Playaway label.
"HD."
Unabridged.
"LIGHT."
"Harper Audio."
Previously released by HarperCollins Publishers, ℗2018.
Release date supplied by publisher.
One set of earphones and one AAA battery required for playback.
Accompanying material may vary.
System Details Issued on Playaway, a dedicated audio media player.
Description 1 audio media player (approximately 5 hr., 25 min.) : digital, HD audio ; 3 1/4 x 2 in.
ISBN 9781987143096
1987143094
Other Classic View