Naomis too

by Rhuday-Perkovich, Olugbemisola,

Format: Print Book 2018
Availability: Available at 3 Libraries 3 of 3 copies
Available (3)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection j FICTION Rhuday-Perkovich
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  j FICTION Rhuday-Perkovich
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction J FIC RHUDAY-PERKOVICH
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC RHUDAY-PERKOVICH
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Fiction j RHUDAY-PERKOVICH
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  j RHUDAY-PERKOVICH
 
 
Summary

A heartfelt, sweet, social justice-themed ode to blended and unconventional families--perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Lisa Graff, and Sara Pennypacker. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.



In this sequel to Two Naomis, now that Naomi Marie's mom and Naomi E.'s dad are married, the girls have learned to do a lot of things together, like All-Family Sunday dinners, sixth-grade homework, navigating the subway system by themselves, and visiting their favorite bakeries. Until sixth grade in a new school presents a whole new set of surprises and challenges.

Trusting her gut has worked for Naomi E. all her life, and she figures that it will be an asset to her role as a Peer Mediator--until she realizes how much of the job requires the Art of Compromise, which she's only just starting to get used to at home.

Naomi Marie is excited about making new friends--but she wants to keep old ones too. And when she sees that some in the school community have a hard time with the realities of "diversity in action," she wonders if the new members of her family can see those realities as well.

As the girls deal with the ups and downs of middle school and the mysteries of family dynamics, they learn that even when life and school try to drive you apart, it's ultimately easier to face everything together.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "The Naomis are back in the sequel to Two Naomis (2016), which picks up at the beginning of sixth grade. Over the summer, the families have combined households and the two stepsisters now share a bedroom, but it's sharing a new school that introduces tricky challenges. Naomi E. struggles with feelings of inadequacy, in contrast to ├╝berbookworm Naomi Marie's ease with academics. Meanwhile, despite the progressive school's championing of diversity, Naomi Marie is still on the receiving end of subtle and not-so-subtle racist remarks from her white classmate Jen. The heftier sequel allows Vernick and Rhuday-Perkovich to explore the intricacies of middle-school life as the girls must find a balance between multiple homes and groups of friends with rising expectations in the classroom. The deft and sensitive look at the range of racial insensitivity, shown from the two girls' perspectives, will be an eye-opening window and affirming mirror for many young readers. Perfectly captures the wonder and sometime-challenges of adjusting to the yes, and experience of blended families.--Jennifer Barnes Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Friendship -- Juvenile fiction.
Girls -- Juvenile fiction.
Stepfamilies -- Juvenile fiction.
Racially mixed families -- Juvenile fiction.
Families -- Juvenile fiction.
Middle school students -- Juvenile fiction.
Middle schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Friendship -- Fiction.
Girls -- Fiction.
Stepfamilies -- Fiction.
Family life -- Fiction.
Middle school students -- Fiction.
Middle schools -- Fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Publisher New York, NY :Balzer + Bray,2018
Edition First edition.
Contributors Vernick, Audrey, author.
Audience Ages 8-12.
Language English
Notes Sequel to: Two Naomis.
Description 308 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780062685155
0062685155
Other Classic View