Your own worst enemy

by Jack, Gordon, 1966-

Format: Print Book 2018
Availability: Available at 6 Libraries 6 of 6 copies
Available (6)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Jack
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Jack
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg Young Adult YA FIC JAC
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC JAC
 
 
Crafton Public Library Young Adult - Fiction YA F JACK 2018 CRAFTON 12/18
Location  Crafton Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult - Fiction
 
Call Number  YA F JACK 2018 CRAFTON 12/18
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA JAC
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA JAC
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA JACK Gordon
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA JACK Gordon
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen Fiction TEEN FIC JACK
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC JACK
 
 
Summary


For fans of Andrew Smith and Frank Portman and the movies Election and Ferris Bueller's Day Off comes a hilarious and satirical novel about the highs and (very low) lows of the electoral process, proving that the popular vote is the one that matters most.

Stacey Wynn was the clear front-runner for Lincoln High student council president. But then French-Canadian transfer student Julia Romero entered the race...and put the moves on Stacey's best friend/campaign adviser, Brian.

Stacey also didn't count on Tony Guo, resident stoner, whose sole focus is on removing the school's ban of his favorite chocolate milk, becoming the voice of the little guy, thanks to a freshman political "mastermind" with a blue Mohawk.

Three candidates, three platforms, and a whirlwind of social media, gaffes, high school drama, and protests make for a ridiculously hilarious political circus that just may hold some poignant truth somewhere in the mix.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Everyone expects Stacey Wynn to sweep the election for senior-class president. She's won every student-council election she's ever run in, has connections with all the major clubs, and is a shrewd political tactician. Even so, she's unprepared for her competition: mysterious new Canadian student, Julia, whose Latino heritage threatens to galvanize the minority vote in her favor. When Tony, a notorious stoner, enters the field on a platform of more-liberal food policies in the cafeteria (or, at least, a lifting of the school's chocolate-milk embargo), the result is a madcap three-way race to the top (or bottom) filled with social-media gaffes, unleashed secrets, and startling betrayals befitting the winner-take-all world of high-school politics. Featuring the same flair that made Jack's debut, The Boomerang Effect (2016), such an irresistible read, this follow-up mixes his trademark wit with reflection on the dysfunction of our current-day political system. Despite the story's humorous bent, Jack takes painstaking effort to imbue his cast of characters with complex motivations, humanizing them even as they engage in cutthroat tactics. With pacing, heart, and incisiveness, Jack has masterfully woven a tale that perfectly blends zany high-school antics and biting sociopolitical satire.--Reinhardt Suarez Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "A group of idiosyncratic teenagers navigates the precarious waters of identity and cultural appropriation while campaigning for student government in this delightfully comedic and timely high school drama by Jack (The Boomerang Effect). In California, extracurricular superstar and avid environmentalist Stacey faces unexpected competition in her run for student body president from a mysterious new girl, Julia, who appears to be a Latina-and garners the Latino vote-but hides the fact that she doesn't actually know her heritage. Further complications ensue when Stacey's best friend and campaign manager, Brian, develops a reciprocated crush on Julia, while his cunning conspiracy theorist younger brother, Mohawk, not only persuades the perpetually stoned, "not stereotypically Asian" Tony to join the race but also defaces Julia's posters with the phrase "Build That Wall!", successfully transferring public sentiment away from Stacey and toward Julia. The parents are all emotionally and sometimes physically unavailable, leaving the protagonists to wrestle with questions about their own identities, how to represent themselves to the world, and whom they can trust. This briskly paced, at times riotously funny satire offers a subtle, discerning critique of both the contemporary U.S. political scene and the milieu of identity politics through top-notch storytelling. Ages 14-up. (Nov.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."

Additional Information
Subjects High school students -- Fiction.
Friendship -- Fiction.
School elections -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Humorous fiction.
Publisher New York, NY :HarperTeen,2018
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 436 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780062399427
006239942X
Other Classic View