You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

The book of dreams

by George, Nina, 1973-

Format: Book on CD 2019
Availability: Available at 11 Libraries 11 of 15 copies
Available (11)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - East Liberty AV CD George
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  AV
 
Call Number  CD George
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Open Stacks CD George
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Open Stacks
 
Call Number  CD George
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Audiovisual Collection CD George
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Audiovisual Collection
 
Call Number  CD George
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Audio CD GEORGE Nina Unabridged
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Audio
 
Call Number  CD GEORGE Nina Unabridged
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Audio Books CD GEORGE NINA
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Audio Books
 
Call Number  CD GEORGE NINA
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Adult Audiobooks CD/BK FIC GEORG
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Adult Audiobooks
 
Call Number  CD/BK FIC GEORG
 
 
Northland Public Library Audio Books FIC GEORGE (COMPACT DISC)
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Audio Books
 
Call Number  FIC GEORGE (COMPACT DISC)
 
 
Robinson Library Audio Book CD FIC GEORGE
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Audio Book
 
Call Number  CD FIC GEORGE
 
 
Sewickley Public Library AV - Audiobooks CD F GEO
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  AV - Audiobooks
 
Call Number  CD F GEO
 
 
Springdale Free Public Library Audio Visual CD GEOR
Location  Springdale Free Public Library
 
Collection  Audio Visual
 
Call Number  CD GEOR
 
 
Whitehall Public Library AudioBook Collection ABOCD George
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  AudioBook Collection
 
Call Number  ABOCD George
 
 
 
Unavailable (4)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Knoxville Audiovisual Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Knoxville
 
Collection  Audiovisual Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Open Stacks CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Open Stacks
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Audiovisual Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Audiovisual Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Audiovisual LOST AND PAID
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Audiovisual
 
Status  LOST AND PAID
 
 
Summary
Warm, wise, and magical--the latest novel by the bestselling author of THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP and THE LITTLE FRENCH BISTRO is an astonishing exploration of the thresholds between life and death

Henri Skinner is a hardened ex-war reporter on the run from his past. On his way to see his son, Sam, for the first time in years, Henri steps into the road without looking and collides with oncoming traffic. He is rushed to a nearby hospital where he floats, comatose, between dreams, reliving the fairytales of his childhood and the secrets that made him run away in the first place.

After the accident, Sam--a thirteen-year old synesthete with an IQ of 144 and an appetite for science fiction--waits by his father's bedside every day. There he meets Eddie Tomlin, a woman forced to confront her love for Henri after all these years, and twelve-year old Madelyn Zeidler, a coma patient like Henri and the sole survivor of a traffic accident that killed her family. As these four very different individuals fight--for hope, for patience, for life--they are bound together inextricably, facing the ravages of loss and first love side by side.

A revelatory, urgently human story that examines what we consider serious and painful alongside light and whimsy, THE BOOK OF DREAMS is a tender meditation on memory, liminality, and empathy, asking with grace and gravitas what we will truly find meaningful in our lives once we are gone.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Henri staggers out of the Thames with a young girl clinging to his neck. He had dived off the Hammersmith Bridge to save her, with a few people looking on mutely. After setting the girl down and dizzily stepping into the road, Henri is thrown into the air by a passing car. His injuries leave him in a coma, completely unresponsive. Sam, Henri's son, and Eddie, Henri's first love, find themselves at Henri's bedside, convinced that they can bring him back to the world of the living. In the depths of the coma unit at one of Britain's top hospitals, where spiritual connection and modern medicine intersect, Henri's loved ones face some of the toughest decisions of their lives. Using detailed flashbacks to keep Henri's memory alive and allowing Henri, Sam, and Eddie to narrate alternating chapters, George (The Little French Bistro, 2017) crafts an empathetic and emotionally stunning novel. Never preachy or maudlin, this deep dive into some of life's most haunting questions will appeal to fans of Isabel Allende and Mary Simses.--Stephanie Turza Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "George's captivating novel (after The Little Paris Bookshop) centers on magical bonds between coma patients and their loved ones. Forty-five-year-old ex-war correspondent Henri Skinner is estranged from his 13-year-old son, and after a traffic accident leaves Henri in an induced coma, Sam starts to form something of a relationship with his father. Sam is gifted, intelligent, and synesthetic, blending the sounds of music and voices into shapes and colors, and although he can sometimes sense his father, he usually feels only darkness. He shares his sorrow with Eddie Tomlin, whom Henri had left over two years earlier but inexplicably named as his representative in his living will. Eddie, for her part, can't help loving the complex man who's "always both running away from himself and searching for his true identity." One other person in the hospital captures Sam's heart: 12-year-old Madelyn, a girl who's also in a coma after an accident that killed her family. Meanwhile, Henri and Madelyn are submerged in real and surreal memories of their earlier lives-and their looming deaths-within their comatose minds. This exploration of unfinished relationships has a haunting, evocative quality, and is a perfect, conversation-starting selection for book groups. (Apr.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Coma -- Patients -- Fiction.
Fathers and sons -- Fiction.
Traffic accidents -- Fiction.
Novels.
Psychological fiction.
Audiobooks.
Publisher New York, New York :2019
Edition Unabridged.
Contributors Pare, Simon, translator.
West, Steve (Actor), narrator.
Knowelden, Elizabeth, 1981- narrator.
Tin-Bradbury, Xalvador, narrator.
Random House Audio Publishing, publisher.
Participants/Performers Read by Steve West, Elizabeth Knowelden and Xalvador Tin-Bradbury.
Language English
Notes Unabridged.
Title from disc label.
Description 9 audio discs (10 hr.) ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 9781984845191
9781984845177
1984845179
Other Classic View