Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

Freefall A Novel

by Barry, Jessica,

Format: Kindle Book 2019 2019
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  OverDrive Read
Availability: Available from OverDrive 2 of 4 copies
Available from OverDrive (2)
 
Unavailable from OverDrive (2)
Summary
"The life that she's built for herself, her perfect fiance, their world of luxury, has disappeared in the blink of an eye. Now she must run, not only to escape the dark secrets in her past, but to outwit the man who is stalking her every move. On the other side of the country, Allison's mother is desperate for news of her daughter, who is missing, presumed dead. Maggie refuses to accept that she could have lost her only child and sets out to discover the truth. Mother and daughter must fight for survival and to find their way through a dark web of lies and back to one another, before it's too late. Heart-stopping and addictive, FREEFALL is a stunning thriller that explores the deep and complex bond between mothers and daughters."-- Goodreads.com.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Allison Carpenter has survived a plane crash in the Rocky Mountains, but she knows this won't be the last threat to her life. She has information so powerful that someone is willing to do anything to keep it under wraps, even if it means burying Allison with the secrets she keeps. Meanwhile, her estranged mother, Maggie, has been told that her only daughter perished in the crash, but when no remains are found, Maggie finds a reason to hope and begins searching for anything that will bring Allison back to her. Told by alternating narrators Allison and Maggie, the story depicts the unbreakable bond between a mother and daughter finding their way back to each other despite betrayals and deceits between them. Written in a fast-paced style, each chapter offers new twists as motives are brought to light and secrets that Allison struggled to hide are revealed. Barry's debut novel will keep readers guessing to the end, and fans of Lisa Jackson and Lisa Scottoline will enjoy this thriller written with a focus on family relationships. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Woman-focused psychological suspense is hot right now, and this debut will be everywhere.--Margaret Howard Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In the pseudonymous Barry's uneven debut, Maggie Carpenter, who lives in Owl Creek, Maine, is alarmed to learn from the news that her estranged daughter, Allison, has gone missing following the crash of a private plane in the Colorado Rockies. Media identify the pilot as Allison's fiancAc, Ben Gardner, the CEO of a major pharmaceutical company, though Maggie hadn't even known her daughter was engaged. Everyone insists that Allison is dead, but Maggie becomes obsessed with retracing her daughter's steps from the last two years. Soon, everything Maggie thought she knew about her daughter falls away, and she discovers a world of money, power, and deception that implicates everyone from the FDA to those closer to home. Meanwhile, Allison, who somehow survived the plane crash, battles hunger, exhaustion, and injury in the Colorado wilderness. Barry's meditations on mother-daughter relationships and female roles add much-needed dimension to an otherwise shallow plot full of predictable twists and surface-level emotion. Still, this psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Claire Mackintosh. Agent: Alexandra Machinist, ICM. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Airplane crash survival Fiction
Mothers and daughters Fiction
Literature
Thriller
Suspense
Fiction
Electronic books.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Psychological fiction.
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :HarperCollins2019
2019
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Format: Kindle Book
Format: OverDrive Read
Requires Adobe Digital Editions or Amazon Kindle
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9780062874856
9780062874856
Other Classic View