Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

The book of dreams a novel

by George, Nina, 1973-

Format: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook 2019 2019
  OverDrive Listen
Availability: Available from OverDrive 2 of 2 copies
Available from OverDrive (2)
Summary
On his way to see his son, Sam, for the first time in years, Henri steps into the road without looking and collides with oncoming traffic. He is rushed to a nearby hospital where he floats, comatose, between dreams, reliving the fairytales of his childhood and the secrets that made him run away in the first place. After the accident, Sam-a thirteen-year old synesthete with an IQ of 144 and an appetite for science fiction-waits by his father's bedside every day. There he meets Eddie Tomlin, a woman forced to confront her love for Henri after all these years, and twelve-year old Madelyn Zeidler, a coma patient like Henri and the sole survivor of a traffic accident that killed her family. As these four very different individuals fight-for hope, for patience, for life-they are bound together inextricably, facing the ravages of loss and first love side by side.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Henri staggers out of the Thames with a young girl clinging to his neck. He had dived off the Hammersmith Bridge to save her, with a few people looking on mutely. After setting the girl down and dizzily stepping into the road, Henri is thrown into the air by a passing car. His injuries leave him in a coma, completely unresponsive. Sam, Henri's son, and Eddie, Henri's first love, find themselves at Henri's bedside, convinced that they can bring him back to the world of the living. In the depths of the coma unit at one of Britain's top hospitals, where spiritual connection and modern medicine intersect, Henri's loved ones face some of the toughest decisions of their lives. Using detailed flashbacks to keep Henri's memory alive and allowing Henri, Sam, and Eddie to narrate alternating chapters, George (The Little French Bistro, 2017) crafts an empathetic and emotionally stunning novel. Never preachy or maudlin, this deep dive into some of life's most haunting questions will appeal to fans of Isabel Allende and Mary Simses.--Stephanie Turza Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "George's captivating novel (after The Little Paris Bookshop) centers on magical bonds between coma patients and their loved ones. Forty-five-year-old ex-war correspondent Henri Skinner is estranged from his 13-year-old son, and after a traffic accident leaves Henri in an induced coma, Sam starts to form something of a relationship with his father. Sam is gifted, intelligent, and synesthetic, blending the sounds of music and voices into shapes and colors, and although he can sometimes sense his father, he usually feels only darkness. He shares his sorrow with Eddie Tomlin, whom Henri had left over two years earlier but inexplicably named as his representative in his living will. Eddie, for her part, can't help loving the complex man who's "always both running away from himself and searching for his true identity." One other person in the hospital captures Sam's heart: 12-year-old Madelyn, a girl who's also in a coma after an accident that killed her family. Meanwhile, Henri and Madelyn are submerged in real and surreal memories of their earlier lives-and their looming deaths-within their comatose minds. This exploration of unfinished relationships has a haunting, evocative quality, and is a perfect, conversation-starting selection for book groups. (Apr.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Coma Patients Fiction
Fathers and sons Fiction
Traffic accidents Fiction
Literature
Romance
Fiction
Psychological fiction.
Audiobooks.
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2019
2019
Edition Unabridged.
Contributors West, Steve (Actor), narrator.
Knowelden, Elizabeth, 1981- narrator.
Tin-Bradbury, Xalvador, narrator.
Pare, Simon, translator.
OverDrive, Inc.
Participants/Performers Read by Steve West, Elizabeth Knowelden & Xalvador Tin-Bradbury.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: OverDrive Listen
Format: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Requires OverDrive app 3.0 (Windows) / 1.0 (Mac) / 1.0 (Windows Mobile)
Description 1 audio file : digital
ISBN 9781984845207
9781984845207
Other Classic View