Library Catalog may be unavailable due to scheduled maintenance on Tuesday 8/27 between 10 PM and 2 AM.

The flatshare a novel

by O'Leary, Beth,

Format: OverDrive Read 2019.
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  Kindle Book
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 7 copies
52 people on waitlist
Unavailable from OverDrive (7)
Summary

What if your roommate is your soul mate? A joyful, quirky romantic comedy, Beth O'Leary's The Flatshare is a feel-good novel about finding love in the most unexpected of ways.

Tiffy and Leon share an apartment. Tiffy and Leon have never met.

After a bad breakup, Tiffy Moore needs a place to live. Fast. And cheap. But the apartments in her budget have her wondering if astonishingly colored mold on the walls counts as art.

Desperation makes her open minded, so she answers an ad for a flatshare. Leon, a night shift worker, will take the apartment during the day, and Tiffy can have it nights and weekends. He'll only ever be there when she's at the office. In fact, they'll never even have to meet.

Tiffy and Leon start writing each other notes - first about what day is garbage day, and politely establishing what leftovers are up for grabs, and the evergreen question of whether the toilet seat should stay up or down. Even though they are opposites, they soon become friends. And then maybe more.

But falling in love with your roommate is probably a terrible idea...especially if you've never met.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Tiffy has broken up with her boyfriend and needs a flat, stat. Desperate times call for desperate measures, so Tiffy accepts a flatshare with Leon, a night nurse. According to the ad, the two will be ships passing in the night, with Tiffy being in the flat in the evenings and weekends, and Leon being there during the weekday daytime hours. The arrangement starts innocently enough, with communication via Post-It note. Then a friendship begins to form, and then more, despite the fact that they haven't met until they do. O'Leary's debut is a sweet, quirky novel about two complete opposites falling for one another under the cutest of circumstances. Her storytelling includes fiery hot love scenes (in a castle no less) and then dives deep into the effects of emotional abuse. Accompanied by a cast of well-developed side characters like a brother in prison and an oversharing best friend Tiffy and Leon's (sexual) tension-filled ride to their eventual meeting is perfect for fans of Helen Hoang's The Kiss Quotient (2018) and Sally Thorne's The Hating Game (2016).--Erin Holt Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Set in the UK, O'Leary's clever debut follows the unlikely romance between two flatmates. Assistant editor Tiffy Moore, who is trying to get over a breakup, and Leon Twomey, who works night shifts at a hospice clinic, agree to live together, though they never run into one another, as their schedules don't overlap. Instead of speaking to one another, Tiffy and Leon communicate by leaving notes about menial things-whose food is whose, when trash night is, etc. In parallel plots, Tiffy tries to overcome the traumatic memories of her emotionally abusive ex-boyfriend, Justin, who strung her along for months while cheating on her. Meanwhile, Leon diligently tries to reopen his imprisoned brother's robbery case. It's only when Tiffy is running late one morning that the two meet-in the shower. Suddenly more interested in each another, Tiffy and Leon find that they are able to help each other in exactly the way the other needs. Somewhat conveniently, Tiffy has just the friend to help Leon with his brother's legal troubles, and Leon is just the person to help Tiffy recover from her breakup. O'Leary's story packs plenty of laughs and gasps; fans of Bridget Jones's Diary will want to give this a look. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Roommates -- Fiction.
Man-woman relationships.
Electronic books.
Love stories.
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :Flatiron Books2019.
Edition First U.S. edition, First international edition.
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Format: Kindle Book
Format: OverDrive Read
Requires Adobe Digital Editions or Amazon Kindle
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9781250295644
9781250295644
Other Classic View