Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

What set me free : a true story of wrongful conviction, a dream deferred, and a man redeemed

by Banks, Brian, 1985-

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 6 Libraries 6 of 10 copies
Available (6)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Biography GV939.B35 A3 2019x
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Biography
 
Call Number  GV939.B35 A3 2019x
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Biography 92 BANKS Brian
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Biography
 
Call Number  92 BANKS Brian
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Non-Fiction 345.794 BAN
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Non-Fiction
 
Call Number  345.794 BAN
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Non-Fiction 345.794 Ban
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Non-Fiction
 
Call Number  345.794 Ban
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Nonfiction 345.794 B21
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Nonfiction
 
Call Number  345.794 B21
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Non-Fiction NEW 345.79 B
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Non-Fiction
 
Call Number  NEW 345.79 B
 
 
 
Unavailable (4)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Squirrel Hill Non-Fiction Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Non-Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Display STORAGE
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Display
 
Status  STORAGE
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Display CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Display
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Display IN TRANSIT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Display
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Summary
*The story that inspired the film Brian Banks *

Discover the unforgettable and inspiring true story of a young man who was wrongfully convicted as a teenager and imprisoned for more than five years, only to emerge with his spirit unbroken and determined to achieve his dream of playing in the NFL.

At age sixteen, Brian Banks was a nationally recruited All-American Football player, ranked eleventh in the nation as a linebacker. Before his seventeenth birthday, he was in jail, awaiting trial for a heinous crime he did not commit.

Although Brian was innocent, his attorney advised him that as a young black man accused of rape, he stood no chance of winning his case at trial. Especially since he would be tried as an adult. Facing a possible sentence of forty-one years to life, Brian agreed to take a plea deal--and a judge sentenced him to six years in prison.

At first, Brian was filled with fear, rage, and anger as he reflected on the direction his life had turned and the unjust system that had imprisoned him. Brian was surrounded by darkness, until he had epiphany that would change his life forever. From that moment on, he made the choice to shed the bitterness and anger he felt, and focus only on the things he had the power to control. He approached his remaining years in prison with a newfound resolve, studying spirituality, improving his social and writing skills, and taking giant leaps on his journey toward enlightenment.

When Brian emerged from prison with five years of parole still in front of him, he was determined to rebuild his life and finally prove his innocence. Three months before his parole was set to expire, armed with a shocking recantation from his accuser and the help of the California Innocence Project, the truth about his unjust incarceration came out and he was exonerated. Finally free, Brian sought to recapture a dream once stripped away: to play for the NFL. And at age twenty-eight, he made that dream come true.

Perfect for fans of Just Mercy , I Beat the Odds , and Infinite Hope , this powerful memoir is a deep dive into the injustices of the American justice system, a soul-stirring celebration of the resilience of the human spirit, and an inspiring call to hold fast to our dreams.
Additional Information
Subjects Banks, Brian, -- 1985-
Football players -- Biography.
Professional athletes -- Biography.
Judicial error.
False arrest.
Autobiographies.
Publisher New York :2019
Edition First Atria paperback edition.
Contributors Dagostino, Mark, author.
Language English
Description 312 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781982121310
1982121319
Other Classic View