Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

Light it up

by Magoon, Kekla,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 21 Libraries 21 of 28 copies
Available (21)
Location Collection Call #
Baldwin Borough Library Young Adult YA MAG
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA MAG
 
 
Braddock Carnegie Library Teen Fiction YA F MAG
Location  Braddock Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  YA F MAG
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Young Adult TEEN FIC MAG
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC MAG
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Teen New Book YA Mag
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Teen New Book
 
Call Number  YA Mag
 
 
CLP - Allegheny Regional Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Magoon
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Magoon
 
 
CLP - Brookline Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Magoon
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Magoon
 
 
CLP - Carrick Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Magoon
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Magoon
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Magoon
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Magoon
 
 
CLP - Hazelwood Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Magoon
Location  CLP - Hazelwood
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Magoon
 
 
CLP - Knoxville Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Magoon
Location  CLP - Knoxville
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Magoon
 
 
CLP - Lawrenceville Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Magoon
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Magoon
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Magoon
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Magoon
 
 
CLP - Sheraden Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Magoon
Location  CLP - Sheraden
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Magoon
 
 
CLP - South Side Teen New Book TEEN FICTION Magoon
Location  CLP - South Side
 
Collection  Teen New Book
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Magoon
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Magoon
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Magoon
 
 
CLP - West End Teen New Books TEEN FICTION Magoon
Location  CLP - West End
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Magoon
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA MAG
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA MAG
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Teen New Books Y MEGOON KEKLA
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  Y MEGOON KEKLA
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA F MAGOON Kekla
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA F MAGOON Kekla
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult New Books YA MAGOON Kekla
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Books
 
Call Number  YA MAGOON Kekla
 
 
Penn Hills Library Youth Y MAG
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Youth
 
Call Number  Y MAG
 
 
 
Unavailable (7)
Location Collection Status
Bethel Park Public Library Young Adult CHECKED OUT
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Beechview Teen New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Teen New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Hill District Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Hill District
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Homewood Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Homewood
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Teen New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Teen New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Young Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library - Eastridge Young Adult CHECKED OUT
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library - Eastridge
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
A girl walks home from school. She's tall for her age. She's wearing her winter coat. Her headphones are in. She's hurrying. She never makes it home.In the aftermath, while law enforcement tries to justify the response, one fact remains: a police officer has shot and killed an unarmed thirteen-year-old girl. The community is thrown into upheaval, leading to unrest, a growing movement to protest the senseless taking of black lives, and the arrival of white supremacist counter demonstrators.Told in a series of vignettes from multiple viewpoints, Light It Up is a powerful, layered story about injustice and strength perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Angie Thomas--as well as an incredible follow-up to the highly acclaimed 2014 novel How It Went Down.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Magoon's latest novel houses an unapologetic, poignant narrative that forces readers to come face-to-face with the harsh realities of racial violence and racial profiling in America. Shae is a 13-year-old Black girl who leaves school one day and never makes it home. Rather, she is shot and killed by a police officer for doing nothing more than wearing headphones and simply existing, her body left lying in the street for hours. Her senseless death rocks her community and affects the lives of many around her. Following Shae's murder, unrest mounts in her community, and protesters bearing the message that Black Lives Matter clash with white-supremacist demonstrators. This tragic, timely story unfurls in vignettes told from various perspectives of those closest to Shae and her death, including an officer on the scene, Shae's friends, and her sister. Each voice tells of the personal impact wrought by Shae's death, while giving readers a gut-wrenching, viscerally true portrait of the light, hope, and promise that are snuffed out whenever another young Black life is taken by police violence. A powerful story of community bonds, injustice, and finding the strength to fight for what is right, this is less an echo of our times than a clarion call for action.--Enishia Davenport Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Coretta Scott King Honoree Magoon's stand-alone follow-up to How It Went Down catches up with the residents of the Underhill neighborhood after another incident: a white police officer shoots a 13-year-old black girl, Shae Tatum, in the back as she is heading home. Multiple points of view follow the killing's aftermath through the eyes of Shae's devastated friends and family, the daughter of the officer who shot the girl, the shooting's sole witness, the residents left grieving in the aftermath, and the black man whose PR job burdens him with ensuring the police department comes through the incident unscathed. When the grand jury verdict comes back, the residents of Underhill pull together, emerging stronger and more determined than ever. Not for the faint of heart, this fearless and realistic account of a police shooting challenges readers to think about these all-too-common events from every perspective. The novel doesn't shy away from the ugly and foundational role racism plays in American life, policing, and media coverage, nor does it neglect to examine black America's strength in the face of adversity. Like How It Went Down, this gritty, emotional tale will leave readers gutted and compelled to stand against flawed systems. Ages 14--up. Agent: Ginger Knowlton, Curtis Brown Ltd. (Oct.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects African Americans -- Fiction.
African Americans -- Death -- Fiction.
Police shootings -- Fiction.
Race relations -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Publisher New York :2019
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 358 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781250128898
1250128897
Other Classic View