Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. OverDrive items can still be requested, and other digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

Out of my mind

by Draper, Sharon M.

Format: Large Print 2019
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Oakmont Carnegie Library Large Print LP YA DRA
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Call Number  LP YA DRA
 
 
Summary

Over 1.5 million people have read the #1 New York Times bestseller Out of My Mind and discovered the brilliant mind of Melody Brooks.

Out of My Mind spent two years on the New York Times bestseller list!

If there's one book teens and parents (and everyone else) should read this year, Out of My Mind should be it.--Denver Post A gutsy, candid, and compelling story. It speaks volumes.--School Library Journal (starred review) Unflinching and realistic.--Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Uplifting.This moving novel will makes activists of us all.--Booklist (starred review)

From multiple award-winning author Sharon Draper comes a story that will forever change how we all look at anyone with a disability, perfect for fans of RJ Palacio's Wonder.

Eleven-year-old Melody is not like most people. She can't walk. She can't talk. She can't write. All because she has cerebral palsy. But she also has a photographic memory; she can remember every detail of everything she has ever experienced. She's the smartest kid in her whole school, but NO ONE knows it. Most people-her teachers, her doctors, her classmates-dismiss her as mentally challenged because she can't tell them otherwise. But Melody refuses to be defined by her disability. And she's determined to let everyone know it.somehow.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* Fifth-grader Melody has cerebral palsy, a condition that affects her body but not her mind. Although she is unable to walk, talk, or feed or care for herself, she can read, think, and feel. A brilliant person is trapped inside her body, determined to make her mark in the world in spite of her physical limitations. Draper knows of what she writes; her daughter, Wendy, has cerebral palsy, too. And although Melody is not Wendy, the authenticity of the story is obvious. Told in Melody's voice, this highly readable, compelling novel quickly establishes her determination and intelligence and the almost insurmountable challenges she faces. It also reveals her parents' and caretakers' courage in insisting that Melody be treated as the smart, perceptive child she is, and their perceptiveness in understanding how to help her, encourage her, and discourage self-pity from others. Thoughtless teachers, cruel classmates, Melody's unattractive clothes ( Mom seemed to be choosing them by how easy they'd be to get on me ), and bathroom issues threaten her spirit, yet the brave Melody shines through. Uplifting and upsetting, this is a book that defies age categorization, an easy enough read for upper-elementary students yet also a story that will enlighten and resonate with teens and adults. Similar to yet the antithesis of Terry Trueman's Stuck in Neutral (2000), this moving novel will make activists of us all.--Bradburn, Frances Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "This long-overdue audio narration of Draper's 2010 middle grade novel is a breakout performance for voice actress Johnson, who skillfully brings together childlike sensitivity and grown-up gravitas as she gives life to Draper's character Melody Brooks. Confined to a wheelchair, Melody is physically trapped by cerebral palsy, but the condition hasn't slowed her prodigious mind; Melody is a genius, as her parents have always suspected and her fifth-grade classmates and teachers are about to find out. Johnson captures Melody's frustration when she cannot communicate, her elation when technological advances finally allow her to, and her sadness when others still regard her with fear or suspicion. Johnson also voices the novel's other characters with wisdom and compassion, including Melody's parents and the tough-as-nails neighbor who pushes the girl to excel. Older children and their parents will enjoy the way Johnson brings life to this unforgettable character. Ages 10-up. An Atheneum paperback. (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Cerebral palsy -- Juvenile fiction.
People with disabilities -- Juvenile fiction.
Communication -- Juvenile fiction.
Interpersonal relations -- Juvenile fiction.
Genius -- Juvenile fiction.
Large type books.
Cerebral palsy -- Fiction.
People with disabilities -- Fiction.
Communication -- Fiction.
Interpersonal relations -- Fiction.
Genius -- Fiction.
Publisher Farmington Hills, Mich. :2019
Edition Large print edition.
Language English
Description 315 pages (large print) ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781432863913
1432863916
Other Classic View