Cinderella is dead

by Bayron, Kalynn,

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: Available at 15 Libraries 15 of 18 copies
Available (15)
Location Collection Call #
Brentwood Library Young Adult Fiction YOUNG ADULT Bayron
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YOUNG ADULT Bayron
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Young Adult TEEN FIC BAY
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC BAY
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Young Adult Fiction YA Bay
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA Bay
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Bayron
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Bayron
 
 
CLP - Hill District Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Bayron
Location  CLP - Hill District
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Bayron
 
 
CLP - Homewood Teen Fiction TEEN FICTION Bayron
Location  CLP - Homewood
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FICTION Bayron
 
 
Dormont Public Library Young Adult YA BAYR
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA BAYR
 
 
F.O.R. Sto-Rox Library Young Adult YA BAY
Location  F.O.R. Sto-Rox Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA BAY
 
 
Jefferson Hills Public Library Young Adult YA FIC BAY
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC BAY
 
 
Millvale Community Library Teen Fiction YAF BAY
Location  Millvale Community Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  YAF BAY
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA BAYRON Kalynn
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA BAYRON Kalynn
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen Fiction TEEN FIC BAYRON
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  TEEN FIC BAYRON
 
 
Scott Township Library Fiction FIC BAYRON CINDER [YA]
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC BAYRON CINDER [YA]
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult Fiction YA BAY
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YA BAY
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library Young Adult FIC BAY YA
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  FIC BAY YA
 
 
 
Unavailable (3)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Downtown Second Floor - Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Downtown
 
Collection  Second Floor - Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library Teen Department - Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  Teen Department - Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Teen Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

"Wholly original and captivating." - Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Girls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that's perfect for fans of Dhonielle Clayton and Melissa Albert .

It's 200 years after Cinderella found her prince, but the fairy tale is over. Teen girls are now required to appear at the Annual Ball, where the men of the kingdom select wives based on a girl's display of finery. If a suitable match is not found, the girls not chosen are never heard from again.

Sixteen-year-old Sophia would much rather marry Erin, her childhood best friend, than parade in front of suitors. At the ball, Sophia makes the desperate decision to flee, and finds herself hiding in Cinderella's mausoleum. There, she meets Constance, the last known descendant of Cinderella and her step sisters. Together they vow to bring down the king once and for all--and in the process, they learn that there's more to Cinderella's story than they ever knew . . .

This fresh take on a classic story will make readers question the tales they've been told, and root for girls to break down the constructs of the world around them.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "In the town of Lille, "Cinderella" is not just a romantic fairy tale, it is the foundational story that undergirds the very culture and law of the land of Mersailles. Despite the grandeur of the ball custom, where annually girls of age are chosen by their own Prince Charmings, in reality it's nothing more than a ploy that renders its women vulnerable--especially those not chosen. So, when 16-year-old Sophia's invitation to the ball finally arrives, she is determined more than ever to follow her heart and flee from the restraints of King Manford's rule--even if that means leaving her family and best friend (and lover), Erin, behind. With the help of Constance, a descendant of Cinderella's stepsister, and Amina, Cinderella's supposed fairy godmother, Sophia attempts the impossible: dismantling a broken kingdom and taking down Manford once and for all. Flipping the Cinderella tale on its head, Bayron's take challenges patriarchy with kick-butt heroines and a counter-story that will forever change how readers perceive fairy tales. Though Sophia's bravery and cunning alongside her stereotype-shattering Black girl beauty will have readers rooting for her, the steady dose of unanticipated events, alliances, and realizations will have them asking, "Can she actually do this?" A fast-paced read, this title will challenge readers' conceptions on many fronts, garnering wide attention by way of our shared experiences of the Cinderella trope."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Two hundred years after Cinderella's death, the kingdom of Mersailles is a totalitarian patriarchy: women have no rights and live with children under a strict curfew, while young women must present themselves to prospective suitors at the annual ball. Those who aren't selected in three years--married by 18--are considered forfeit and destined for lives of servitude; some vanish altogether. In the city of Lille, headstrong Sophia Grimmins, 16, wants nothing to do with marriage--unless it's to her girlfriend, Erin. But while Erin succumbs to fear and social pressure, Sophia refuses to yield, fleeing the ball. On the run, she encounters beautiful Constance, a descendant of Cinderella's vilified stepsister Gabrielle, who knows the truth behind the official legend. Determined to overthrow the corrupt system, the two decide to trace the rumors behind another storied figure: Cinderella's fairy godmother. While the budding relationship between Sophia and Constance fulfills an emotional component, logistical failings and a hasty conclusion weaken the novel. Even so, Bayron's deconstructive reimagining of the classic fairy tale is ambitious, replacing the happily-ever-after with a tragic legacy and a defiant, feminist tone. Ages 13--up. Agent: Jamie Vankirk, Rainbow Nerds Literary. (July)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Lesbians -- Fiction.
Lesbian teenagers -- Fiction.
Feminism -- Fiction.
Sexism -- Fiction.
Black people -- Fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Fantasy fiction.
Publisher New York :Bloomsbury,2020
Language English
Description 389 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781547603879
1547603879
Other Classic View