Due to planned maintenance, the Library Catalog will be unavailable for approximately 3 hours starting at 9 PM on Sunday, January 23rd. We apologize for any inconvenience.

American as paneer pie

by Kelkar, Supriya, 1980-

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: Available at 7 Libraries 7 of 10 copies
Available (7)
Location Collection Call #
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Fiction juv KELKAR Supriya
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  juv KELKAR Supriya
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - New Books j FICTION Kelkar
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - New Books
 
Call Number  j FICTION Kelkar
 
 
Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale Children Fiction J Fic Kel
Location  Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale
 
Collection  Children Fiction
 
Call Number  J Fic Kel
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction J KELKAR
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J KELKAR
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction J FIC KELKAR
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC KELKAR
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Fiction j KELKAR
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  j KELKAR
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Juvenile Fiction JUV KELKAR
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JUV KELKAR
 
 
 
Unavailable (3)
Location Collection Status
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
An Indian American girl navigates prejudice in her small town and learns the power of her own voice in this brilliant gem of a middle grade novel full of humor and heart, perfect for fans of Front Desk and Amina's Voice .

As the only Indian American kid in her small town, Lekha Divekar feels like she has two versions of herself: Home Lekha, who loves watching Bollywood movies and eating Indian food, and School Lekha, who pins her hair over her bindi birthmark and avoids confrontation at all costs, especially when someone teases her for being Indian.

When a girl Lekha's age moves in across the street, Lekha is excited to hear that her name is Avantika and she's Desi, too! Finally, there will be someone else around who gets it. But as soon as Avantika speaks, Lekha realizes she has an accent. She's new to this country, and not at all like Lekha.

To Lekha's surprise, Avantika does not feel the same way as Lekha about having two separate lives or about the bullying at school. Avantika doesn't take the bullying quietly. And she proudly displays her culture no matter where she is: at home or at school.

When a racist incident rocks Lekha's community, Lekha realizes she must make a choice: continue to remain silent or find her voice before it's too late.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Eleven-year-old Lekha doesn't think she has a lot going for her, especially not when being Indian in her part of Detroit feels unsafe and when there's a bindi birthmark on her forehead begging to be used as a marker for ignorant remarks. When Avantika, another Indian girl Lekha's age, moves into the neighborhood with her family, Lekha feels burdened with having to befriend her. Although she is a new immigrant, Avantika proves to be nothing like Lekha expects. Kelkar (Ahimsa, 2017; The Many Colors of Harpreet Singh, 2019) has written a story that desi outcasts throughout the country can empathize with. Lekha easily succumbs to peer pressure, supporting the ongoing theme that silence is the same as complacency in the face of racism and microaggression. While depictions of food and Hindu celebration are informative, excessive description and some confusing stitching of the story to Lekha's narration bog down the book. Nonetheless, Avantika brings out the best in Lekha, and Lekha's evolution, though slow, is as sweet as burfi."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In this resonant #OwnVoices novel, a first-generation Indian American girl who initially wishes to blend into her predominantly white community learns to honor her identity. Sixth grader Lekha Divekar is the only Desi kid in her Detroit suburb. In order to avoid bullying at school, she covers the bindi-shaped birthmark on her forehead (which earned her the nickname Dot) and avoids bringing her favorite Indian foods for lunch. At home, however, Lekha takes pride in her heritage and Hindu faith, practicing folk dances and celebrating Diwali with her family. When another Indian family moves in across the street, Lekha's initial attitude toward 11-year-old Avantika is one of condescension: "My new neighbor had a thick Indian accent. My new neighbor was a fob." But as classmates, Lekha admires Avantika's confidence and eloquence, and the two become friends. After Lekha's family is the target of racist vandalism, she determines to speak out against the xenophobia in her town, where a new political slogan, "Don't like it? Leave," has taken hold. Though Lekha's transformation from silent onlooker to vocal activist feels sudden, taking place in the book's final portion, Kelkar (Ahimsa) illuminates the need for voices raised against discrimination and paints a convincing portrait of a girl straddling two cultures. Ages 8--12. Agent: Kathleen Rushall, Andrea Brown Literary. (May)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Immigrants -- Juvenile fiction.
East Indian Americans -- Juvenile fiction.
Prejudices -- Juvenile fiction.
Bullying -- Juvenile fiction.
Self-confidence -- Juvenile fiction.
Hate crimes -- Juvenile fiction.
Middle schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Immigrants -- Fiction.
East Indian Americans -- Fiction.
Prejudices -- Fiction.
Bullying -- Fiction.
Self-confidence -- Fiction.
Hate crimes -- Fiction.
Middle schools -- Fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Michigan -- Juvenile fiction.
Michigan -- Fiction.
Bildungsromans.
Publisher New York :2020
Edition First Aladdin hardcover edition.
Language English
Description 311 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781534439382
1534439382
Other Classic View