Due to planned maintenance, the Library Catalog will be unavailable for approximately 3 hours starting at 9 PM on Sunday, January 23rd. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Fly on the wall

by Lai, Remy,

Format: Print Book 2020
Availability: Available at 20 Libraries 20 of 27 copies
Available (20)
Location Collection Call #
Baldwin Borough Library Juvenile Fiction J LAI
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J LAI
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Fiction juv LAI Remy
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  juv LAI Remy
 
 
Brentwood Library Juvenile Fiction JUV Lai
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JUV Lai
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Children Fiction J Lai
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Children Fiction
 
Call Number  J Lai
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection j FICTION Lai
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  j FICTION Lai
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Childrens' Room j FIC LAI
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Childrens' Room
 
Call Number  j FIC LAI
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg Childrens j FIC LAI
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg
 
Collection  Childrens
 
Call Number  j FIC LAI
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC LAI
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC LAI
 
 
Crafton Public Library Juvenile - Fiction J F LAI 2020 CRAFTON 9/20
Location  Crafton Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile - Fiction
 
Call Number  J F LAI 2020 CRAFTON 9/20
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction JF LAI Remy
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JF LAI Remy
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Juvenile J FIC LAI
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Call Number  J FIC LAI
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction J FIC LAI
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC LAI
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Juvenile Fiction J LAI
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J LAI
 
 
Scott Township Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC LAI
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC LAI
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Juvenile Fiction J F LAI
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J F LAI
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Fiction j LAI
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  j LAI
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC LAI
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC LAI
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Juvenile Fiction JUV LAI
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JUV LAI
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Middle Grade MG LAI
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Middle Grade
 
Call Number  MG LAI
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Juvenile Fiction JF Lai
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JF Lai
 
 
 
Unavailable (7)
Location Collection Status
Bridgeville Public Library Public Library Children's Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Public Library Children's Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale Children Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale
 
Collection  Children Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Book Battle IN TRANSIT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Book Battle
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Book Battle CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Book Battle
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
 
On Order (1)
Location Collection Status
Pleasant Hills Public Library Juvenile IN PROCESSING
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary

In Fly on the Wall , a moving and hilarious diary-style illustrated novel from the award-winning author of Pie in the Sky , a twelve-year-old boy goes on a (forbidden) solo adventure halfway around the world to prove his independence to his overprotective family.

A Best Book of the Year for Kirkus, Booklist, Chicago Public Library, and School Library Journal !

Henry Khoo's family treats him like a baby. He's not allowed to go anywhere without his sister/chaperone/bodyguard. And he definitely CAN'T take a journey halfway around the world all by himself!

But that's exactly his plan. After his family's annual trip to visit his father in Singapore is cancelled, Henry decides he doesn't want to be cooped up at home with his overprotective family and BFF turned NRFF (Not Really Friend Forever). Plus, he's hiding a your-life-is-over-if-you're-caught secret: he's the creator of an anonymous gossip cartoon, and he's on the verge of getting caught. Determined to prove his independence and avoid punishment for his crimes, Henry embarks on the greatest adventure everrr . . . hoping it won't turn into the greatest disaster ever.

Remy Lai takes readers on an adventure filled with humor, heart, and hijinks that's a sure bet for fans of Jerry Craft, Terri Libenson, and Shannon Hale!

"Funny, enthralling, and a great reminder that being a little odd isn't a bad thing." --Kayla Miller, author of Click and Camp

* "Near-misses and laugh-out-loud moments abound, which will endear it to readers who like 'Big Nate' and 'Wimpy Kid.'" -- School Library Journal , starred review

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Henry Khoo just wants his family to stop treating him like a baby. He's 12 years old, for crying out loud! Instead, he's got a helicopter mother and older sister, who won't let him do anything on his own. When the family's annual trip to visit Henry's dad is canceled, Henry is crushed--and doubly so when his suggestion to make the trip on his own is immediately dismissed. Henry is positive he's mature enough to fly by himself from Australia to his dad in Singapore, and thus a scheme to do just that is born. Lai follows her debut, Pie in the Sky (2019), with another winning tale of middle-school trials. Her comics-style artwork gives the book Wimpy Kid flair, while accentuating the story's funny moments (including fart jokes!) and bringing a secondary story line to life. The latter revolves around an online comic by "Fly on the Wall" that pokes fun at students and staff at Henry's school. Henry is the secret creator of the comic, which he began in response to being dumped by his best friend. Lai authentically navigates the conflicting emotions that define the awkward transition from kid to teenager, and readers will fall in love with Henry as he struggles to find that tween balance. A smile-inducing crowd-pleaser for every collection."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Henry Khoo chronicles his life quandaries in this fresh, idiosyncratic story that meshes prose and graphic novel formats. The 12-year-old Australian resident feels suffocated and sometimes humiliated by his overprotective mother and older sister, and is convinced that his father in Singapore, with whom he shares only perfunctory phone conversations, doesn't like him. At school, Henry's best and only friend suddenly adopts a new passel of pals, leaving him alone, resentful, and ready to retaliate. The multistranded plot unfolds in Henry's notebook, brimming with hyperbolic line drawings that are charged with imagination, emotion, and humor. (He portrays his mother and sister as anthropomorphized helicopters hovering overhead, while a flattened Henry exclaims, "You've turned me into a helipad!") The disgruntled boy makes some uncharacteristically bold, even reckless, moves. He creates the anonymous blog Fly on the Wall (the name reflects his feeling of invisibility), which features mean-spirited cartoons of classmates, and he surreptitiously flies alone to Singapore to speak with his father about some long-percolating questions. As she did in Pie in the Sky, Lai deftly mines the angst and conundrums of life as a dual-cultural adolescent fording the turbulent torrents of peer and family relationships. Ages 8--12. Agent: Jim McCarthy, Dystel, Goderich & Bourret. (May)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Maturation (Psychology) -- Juvenile fiction.
Voyages and travels -- Juvenile fiction.
Families -- Australia -- Juvenile fiction.
Friendship -- Juvenile fiction.
Caricatures and cartoons -- Authorship -- Juvenile fiction.
Voyages and travels -- Fiction.
Family life -- Australia -- Fiction.
Friendship -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :2020
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 332 pages : color illustrations ; 21 cm
ISBN 9781250314116
1250314119
9781250314123
1250314127
Other Classic View