Due to planned maintenance, the Library Catalog will be unavailable for approximately 3 hours starting at 9 PM on Sunday, January 23rd. We apologize for any inconvenience.

The Silver Arrow

by Grossman, Lev,

Format: Book on CD 2020
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Northland Public Library Children's Audio Books J FIC GROSSMAN (COMPACT DISC)
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Audio Books
 
Call Number  J FIC GROSSMAN (COMPACT DISC)
 
 
Summary

From a #1 New York Times bestselling author comes a must-read, wholly original middle-grade debut perfect for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and Roald Dahl

"Dear Uncle Herbert, You've never met me, but I'm your niece Kate, and since it is my birthday tomorrow and you are super-rich could you please send me a present?"

Kate and her younger brother Tom lead dull, uninteresting lives. And if their dull, uninteresting parents are anything to go by, they don't have much to look forward to. Why can't Kate have thrilling adventures and save the world the way people do in books? Even her 11th birthday is shaping up to be mundane -- that is, until her mysterious and highly irresponsible Uncle Herbert, whom she's never even met before, surprises her with the most unexpected, exhilarating, inappropriate birthday present of all time: a colossal steam locomotive called the Silver Arrow.

Kate and Tom's parents want to send it right back where it came from. But Kate and Tom have other ideas -- and so does the Silver Arrow -- and soon they're off to distant lands along magical rail lines in the company of an assortment of exotic animals who, it turns out, can talk. With only curiosity, excitement, their own resourcefulness and the thrill of the unknown to guide them, Kate and Tom are on the adventure of a lifetime . . . and who knows? They just might end up saving the world after all.

This thrilling fantasy adventure will not only entertain young readers but inspire them to see the beautiful, exciting, and precious world around them with new eyes.

Additional Information
Subjects Steam locomotives -- Juvenile fiction.
Railroad trains -- Juvenile fiction.
Brothers and sisters -- Juvenile fiction.
Uncles -- Juvenile fiction.
Magic -- Juvenile fiction.
Animals -- Juvenile fiction.
Adventure stories.
Locomotives -- Fiction.
Railroad trains -- Fiction.
Adventure and adventurers -- Fiction.
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction.
Uncles -- Fiction.
Magic -- Fiction.
Animals -- Fiction.
Fantasy fiction.
Audiobooks.
Children's audiobooks.
Publisher [New York] :2020
Edition Unabridged.
Contributors Vance, Simon, narrator.
Participants/Performers Read by Simon Vance.
Language English
Notes Compact discs.
Description 4 audio discs (approximately 4 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 9781549106736
1549106732
9781549158490
154915849X
Other Classic View