Firekeeper's daughter

by Boulley, Angeline,

Format: Book on MP3 Disc 2021
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Monroeville Public Library Audio PL BOULLEY ANGELINE
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Audio
 
Call Number  PL BOULLEY ANGELINE
 
 
Summary
In Firekeeper's Daughter, debut author Angeline Boulley crafts a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levis hockey team.Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug.Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims.Now, as the deceptions--and deaths--keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far shell go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world shes ever known. A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Reeling after the death of her uncle, Daunis is trying to adjust to her new normal, a challenge at the best of times in her gossip-prone town, especially when her scandalous origins leave her caught between two worlds: Ojibwe on her father's side, but not officially enrolled as a member of the tribe, and French, dating back to fur traders, on the side of her mother, who considers the other half of Daunis' heritage a defect. When she witnesses a murder at the hands of someone who is addicted to meth and from a prominent family of her tribe, she has a choice: let the cycle of pain continue or protect her community. This debut novel is gripping from the start, letting the reader know that they're in for wild ride. Boulley, herself an enrolled member of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, writes from a place of love for her community and shares some key teachings from her culture, even mixing languages within the context of the story. She doesn't shy away from or sugar-coat the very real circumstances that plague reservations across the country, and she tackles these through her biracial hero, who gets involved in the criminal investigation into the corruption that led to this pain. An incredible thriller, not to be missed."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "With sharp turns and charming characters, this debut thriller by Annishinabe author Boulley centers 18-year-old Daunis Fontaine, who loves and fits into her community but yearns for official citizenship in the Sault tribe. Science-minded Daunis had planned on going away for college, but after her uncle overdoses on meth and her grandmother has a stroke, she stays closer to her Sault Ste. Marie, Mich., home, negotiating a complex familial situation having to do with her deceased Annishinabe father. After witnessing her best friend's murder by her meth-reliant boyfriend, she begins looking into the mounting local meth overdoses, using her knowledge of chemistry as well as traditional plants and medicine to source the drug and, amid growing danger, reveal its seller. Featuring prolific use of Anishinaabemowin (Ojibwe language), this wonderfully tribally specific story offers powerful messages about what it can mean to be an Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman): "complex and sometimes exhausted, but mostly brave." Hitting hard when it comes to issues such as citizenship, language revitalization, and the corrosive presence of drugs on Native communities, this novel will long stand in the hearts of both Native and non-Native audiences. Ages 14--up. Author's agent: Faye Bender, the Book Group. (Mar.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Lesbian teenagers -- Fiction.
Drugs -- Fiction.
Undercover operations -- Fiction.
Families -- Michigan -- Fiction.
Racially mixed people -- Fiction.
Ojibwa Indians -- Fiction.
Indians of North America -- Michigan -- Fiction.
Michigan -- Fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Audiobooks.
Playaway (Preloaded audio player)
Publisher Solon, OH :Findaway World, LLC,2021
Edition Unabridged.
Contributors LaBlanc, Isabella Star, narrator.
Findaway World, LLC, publisher.
Participants/Performers Read by Isabella Star LaBlanc.
Language English
Notes Unabridged.
Title from Playaway label.
Originally issued on compact disc in 2021.
One set of earphones and one AAA battery required for listening.
Accompanying material may vary.
System Details Issued on Playaway, a dedicated audio media player.
Description 1 audio media player (approximately 14 hr.) ; 3 1/4 x 2 in.
ISBN 9781250831033
1250831032
Other Classic View