Carry me home

by Fox, Janet S.,

Format: Print Book 2021
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 2 copies
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction J FIC FOX
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC FOX
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
"A poignant and powerful reminder that homelessness is not hopelessness." --Kirby Larson, author of Newbery Honor book Hattie Big Sky

Two sisters struggle to keep their father's disappearance a secret in this tender middle grade novel that's perfect for fans of Katherine Applegate and Lynda Mullaly Hunt.

Twelve-year-old Lulu and her younger sister, Serena, have a secret. As Daddy always says, "it's best if we keep it to ourselves," and so they have. But hiding your past is one thing. Hiding where you live--and that your Daddy has gone missing--is harder.

At first Lulu isn't worried. Daddy has gone away once before and he came back. But as the days add up, with no sign of Daddy, Lulu struggles to take care of the responsibilities they used to manage as a family.

Lulu knows that all it takes is one slip-up for their secret to come spilling out, for Lulu and Serena to be separated, and for the good things that have been happening in school to be lost.

But family is all around us, and Lulu must learn to trust her new friends and community to save those she loves and to finally find her true home.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "After her mother's death, 12-year-old Lulu has been living in a run-down SUV with her younger sister, Serena, and their devastated father. Montana is a far cry from their familiar Texas, but they've made it work, setting up camp in an RV park, spending days at school and work, and sleeping in the car at night. Dad promises better days ahead, but their precarious existence is upended when, one day, he fails to return home. An increasingly anxious Lulu carries on as usual, fearing sibling separation if anyone finds out. Waiting for her father's return, she dodges questions and cares for Serena while navigating middle school and increasingly suspicious (but kind) townspeople. Fox's moving story is told in flashes of the "Now," "Before," and "Way Before," slowly and affectingly filling in the family's history, as well as a detailed explanation of their situation. A reassuring but realistic ending encourages readers to ask for help when needed and emphasizes that there is always someone who will care. A compassionate and empathetic examination of being unhoused."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Sisters -- Juvenile fiction.
Homelessness -- Juvenile fiction.
Abandoned children -- Juvenile fiction.
Friendship -- Juvenile fiction.
Community life -- Montana -- Juvenile fiction.
Sisters -- Fiction.
Homelessness -- Fiction.
Abandoned children -- Fiction.
Friendship -- Fiction.
Community life -- Fiction.
Montana -- Juvenile fiction.
Montana -- Fiction.
Social problem fiction.
Publisher New York :Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers,2021
Edition First edition.
Audience Ages 8-12.
Grades 4-6.
Language English
Description 197 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781534485082
1534485082
9781534485099
1534485090
Other Classic View