Music of the night : a Crime Writers' Association anthology

Format: Print Book 2022
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Knoxville Fiction Collection FICTION Music
Location  CLP - Knoxville
Collection  Fiction Collection
Call Number  FICTION Music
The Annual Crime Writers' Association anthology is always a thrilling read, and eagerly anticipated by readers and authors of crime and mystery fiction worldwide.

Music of the Night is a new anthology of original short stories contributed by Crime Writers' Association (CWA) members and edited by Martin Edwards, with music as the connecting theme. The aim, as always, is to produce a book which is representative both of the genre and the membership of the world's premier crime writing association.

The CWA has published anthologies of members' stories in most years since 1956, with Martin Edwards as editor for over 25 years, during which time the anthologies have yielded many award-winning and nominated stories by writers such as Ian Rankin, Reginald Hill, Lawrence Block, and Edward D. Hoch. Stories by long-standing authors and stellar names sit alongside contributions from relative newcomers, authors from overseas, and members whose work haven't appeared in a CWA anthology before.

Contents List:

Abi Silver - Be Prepared

Alison Joseph - A Sharp Thorn

Andrew Taylor - Wrong Notes

Antony M. Brown - The Melody of Murder

Art Taylor - Love Me or Leave Me

Brian Price - The Scent of an Ending

Cath Staincliffe - Mix Tape

C. Aird - The Last Green Bottle

Chris Simms - Taxi

Christine Poulson - Some Other Dracula

David Stuart Davies - Violin - CE

Dea Parkin - The Sound and the Fury

Jason Monaghan - A Vulture Sang in Berkeley Square

Kate Ellis - Not a Note

L.C. Tyler - His Greatest Hit

Leo McNeir - Requiem

Martin Edwards - The Crazy Cries of Love

Maxim Jakubowski - Waiting for Cornelia

Neil Daws - The Watch Room

Paul Charles - The Ghosts of Peace

Paul Gitsham - No More 'I Love You's'

Peter Lovesey - And the Band Played On

Ragnar Jónasson - 4x3

Shawn Reilly Simmons - A Death in Four Parts

Vaseem Khan - Bombay Blues

FLAME TREE PRESS is the imprint of long-standing independent Flame Tree Publishing, dedicated to full-length original fiction in the horror and

suspense, science fiction & fantasy, and crime / mystery / thriller categories. The list brings together fantastic new authors and the more established; the award winners, and exciting, original voices. Learn more about Flame Tree Press at and connect on social media @FlameTreePress
Introduction / Martin Edwards
Be prepared / Abi Silver
A sharp thorn / Alison Joseph
Wrong notes / Andrew Taylor
The melody of murder / Antony M. Brown
Love me or leave me : a fugue in G minor / Art Taylor
The scent of an ending / Brian Price
Mix tape / Cath Staincliffe
The last green bottle / Catherine Aird
Taxi! / Chris Simms
Some other Dracula / Christine Poulson
CE / David Stuart Davies
The sound and the fury / Dea Parkin
A vulture sang in Berkeley Square / Jason Monaghan
Not a note / Kate Ellis
His greatest hit / L.C. Tyler
Requiem / Leo McNeir
The crazy cries of love / Martin Edwards
Waiting for Cornelia / Maxim Jakubowski
The watch room / Neil Daws
The ghosts of peace / Paul Charles
No more 'I love you's' / Paul Gitsham
And the band played on / Peter Lovesey
4 x 3.3 / Ragnar Jónasson
A death in four parts / Shawn Reilly Simmons
Bombay blues / Vaseem Khan.

Additional Information
Subjects Music -- Fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Short stories.
Publisher London :Flame Tree Press,2022
Contributors Edwards, Martin, 1955- editor, author.
Crime Writers' Association (Great Britain), issuing body.
Language English
Notes "25 gripping new crime stories"--Dust jacket.
Description 309 pages ; 23 cm
ISBN 9781787587359
Other Classic View