Send for Me

by Fox, Lauren

Format: Kindle Book 2021
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  OverDrive Read
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 20 copies
109 people on waitlist
Unavailable from OverDrive (20)
Summary
AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERA TODAY SHOW #ReadWithJenna BOOK CLUB PICK!An achingly beautiful work of historical fiction that moves between Germany on the eve of World War II and present-day Wisconsin, unspooling a thread of love, longing, and the powerful bonds of family.Annelise is a dreamer: imagining her future while working at her parents' popular bakery in Feldenheim, Germany, anticipating all the delicious possibilities yet to come. There are rumors that anti-Jewish sentiment is on the rise, but Annelise and her parents can't quite believe that it will affect them; they're hardly religious at all. But as Annelise falls in love, marries, and gives birth to her daughter, the dangers grow closer: a brick thrown through her window; a childhood friend who cuts ties with her; customers refusing to patronize the bakery. Luckily Annelise and her husband are given the chance to leave for America, but they must go without her parents, whose future and safety are uncertain.Two generations later, in a small Midwestern city, Annelise's granddaughter, Clare, is a young woman newly in love. But when she stumbles upon a trove of her grandmother's letters from Germany, she sees the history of her family's sacrifices in a new light, and suddenly she's faced with an impossible choice: the past, or her future. A novel of dazzling emotional richness that is based on letters from Lauren Fox's own family, Send for Me is a major departure for this acclaimed author, an epic and intimate exploration of mothers and daughters, duty and obligation, hope and forgiveness.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "The enduring ties between mothers and daughters are at the center of Fox's intergenerational epic, which begins with Klara, a Jewish mother and wife living in Germany in the 1930s. Klara wants nothing more than to protect her daughter, Annelise, but that means letting her leave for America with her husband, Walter, and daughter, Ruth. As Annelise settles into her new life in Milwaukee, Klara's situation becomes dire, and Annelise struggles to find a way to bring her parents to the U.S. Years later, Klara's great-granddaughter, Clare, discovers Klara and Annelise's correspondence, which becomes a key to understanding her family's past and her own future as she decides whether to move to London with the man she loves. These letters, interspersed throughout the book, highlight the desperation of Klara's situation and the sacrifices she made to give her daughter and granddaughter an opportunity to survive. Fox deftly moves between generations as she illuminates the ways that choices echo through the lives of those who came after. This thoughtful, character-driven exploration of the unbreakable bonds of motherhood will appeal to fans of Alice Hoffman and Elizabeth Berg."
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Fox (Days of Awe) draws on old family letters for a poignant fictional memoir of her Jewish grandparents, who left Germany in 1938 with her mother and settled in Milwaukee. Annelise, the daughter of bakery owners in Feldenheim, Germany, is struggling with her own adolescence against the backdrop of rising anti-Semitism. In her early 20s, she finds true love with Walter Goldmann, a regular at the bakery, newly divorced and 10 years older. In the midst of increasingly vicious anti-Semetic cruelty--Annelise miscarries after a brick is thrown through their window--the couple has a child, Ruth, born in 1937, and seek asylum in America. Fox then intercuts scenes of the couple's new life in the Midwest with flashbacks of more horrors in Germany. A brief scene after Annelise's death at 85 has Ruth cleaning out her apartment with the help of Ruth's daughter, Clare, who finds a cache of letters to Annelise from her mother, which make a deep impact on both women. Fox satisfyingly brings this story of love and desire full circle, as Clare and Ruth reflect on what it means to be both a mother and a child in the darkest of times. This tender and deeply inspired story will move readers. Agent: Julie Barer, the Book Group. (Feb.)"
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Literature
Fiction
Publisher Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group2021
Language English
ISBN 9781101947814